With apologies…

I know…  I know…  Where have I been for the past month?  To all of you who have so nicely responded to my last two blogs, I definitely owe you an apology.  No excuses, but I do have a reason.  The rest of the sluts know this, but for all of you guests who so kindly join us each day,  let me tell you a little about my “day” job. 

I’m a pediatric nurse and have been for over 28 years.  I’ve always been glad that I could make a living, doing the thing I love best…taking care of kids.  Even at the tender age of seven, I knew I wanted to be a mother.  (I didn’t want to get married, you understand.  Boy cooties!)  I did get married and have two sons, but they grew up way too fast.  When I became a nurse, I figured I couldn’t become a peds nurse because I would get too attached to my patients.  In fact, when I transferred to my first peds position, it was because I could leave the graveyard shift for the day shift.  I planned to work my six months, then transfer laterally to a med-surg unit.  But after three months, you couldn’t get me out of peds with dynamite!

However, one bad part about pediatric nursing is that winters are a b**ch!  The number one cause of hospitalization in children is upper respiratory illness (better known as URI) and the number two cause is vomiting/diarrhea/dehydration (aka Gastro).  And when are these two monsters the worst?  In the winter.  Now, normally, the worst of the winter illnesses occurs in January, but because this winter has been so weird, our peak didn’t come until March. This means lots of longer shifts (and I already work 12 hours shifts!) and being called in for extra hours.  Means good money, but when you’re 63 like me, those hours can wear you down.

That’s why I’ve fallen so far behind in my participation on the blog, but last week, I had my first shift where none of my patients were in isolation!  That’s big news when you’re talking about flu and RSV and rotovirus.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to catch up in the next few weeks.  And I will be replying to all your comments.  And my fellow sluts…I’m not forgoing your posts in the past month.  I’m ready to have my “well” re-filled, so I’ll be reading and commenting on what you’ve written.  So beware!  Even better…maybe now I can get back to actually writing!

5 thoughts on “With apologies…

  1. Jackie, you amaze me. I’m so in awe of you & have been since I first met you at NORA! I knew you were a busy woman, I didn’t realize how until this post. I don’t think I could even keep up with you for a day! And as for writing….can hardly wait to read your next book! 🙂

  2. What an amazing woman you are, Jackie. Nurses are the unsung heroes of the medical world. My BFF is a retired pediatric nurse and she will tell you in a heartbeat it is the toughest job you will ever love. I just can’t imagine having to deal with all of those sick children. I just have dogs and I panic if they are sick!

    Don’t forget to take care of you in all of this!

  3. I think it’s super-awesome what you do, Jackie. I know I could never do it. I have a lot of respect for anyone who can work with kids. It’s a tough thing to do.
    And no apologies are neccessary. We know how busy you are and love ya bunches!!
    Ashlynn

  4. Ditto Ash, Jackie. You don’t have to apologize. I’ve got my peds-ER-nurse daughter-in-law and my NICU-nurse niece, so I know how tough things can be. And I admire all of you for not just doing the job, but loving it.

Leave a Reply

