I Believe in Fairies!

When I was very young, an annual tradition in my family was to watch Mary Martin as Peter Pan on the TV.  (That ages me, doesn’t it?)  There was a scene where Tinkerbell is poisoned and Peter looks directly at the camera and says “If all the boys and girls in the World will say ‘I believe in Fairies,’ Tinkerbell won’t die.”  My mom and I, on the couch, would hold hands and chant over and over, “I believe in Fairies.  I believe in Fairies!”  My bratty younger brother would sit in the floor, chanting, “I don’t believe in Fairies.  Die, Tinkerbell, die!”

Luckily for Tinkerbell, my mom and I outvoted David.

I always knew I loved happily ever endings.  Many is the book I’ve read that I absolutely adored the book, but never considered rereading.  And it didn’t matter whether it was mainstream, SF, history, biography, romance…whatever; if it didn’t have a happy ending, it disappointed me.  For a long time, I even felt guilty that I didn’t “like” very popular books, but if they didn’t have a happy, or at least a satisfactory, ending…

With maturity came enlightenment.  I wanted the white hat cowboy to defeat the black hat bad guy.  I wanted the space trooper to win the war against the Bugs.  I wanted the detective to solve the crime.   And mainstream or not, I wanted the protagonist to triumph.  But it is in romance that I’m GUARANTEED that every book will end with a HEA; that’s why the majority of what I read is romance.

Books that I’ve read in other genres may not have the same set up as a romance.   John of Gaunt loved his Katherine, but not as much as his need to be a king; therefore they didn’t get their HEA until very late in life, when John accepted there was no way he would ever be crowned.  Madselin, Saxon lady, used every weapon in her power to make her Norman husband/overlord submit to her wiles, but it wasn’t until the end, when he surrendered his honor to protect her, that she learned he loved her without him ever saying the words.  And Kristen Bjornsen, Human, and Zainal, Catteni, will never live a life like others of their respective species, but together, they found their own HEA.  And that’s what keeps me reading.

But what keeps me writing is I want to write nothing but Happily Ever After.  Some of my SF friends think I’m selling out.  But what did they expect?  I believe in Fairies!

10 thoughts on “I Believe in Fairies!

  1. I had totally forgotten about ‘I believe in Fairies.’ I do, I do!!
    I don’t think you’re selling out but making your readers happy.

    I remember reading a ‘romance’ where the climax to the ending was so bad that after I forced myself to the end, I threw the book against the wall. Fortunately the movie didn’t include that stupid scene. But my enjoyment was ruined. The ending must be satisfying, so for me that’s HEA.

  2. I believe in fairies too!! I love that scene in the Mary Martin Peter Pan. There is also a version of it in the Johnny Depp film about the writing of Peter Pan. The name escapes me this AM.

    I have read those books too where I had to throw them against the wall because they CHEATED me out of my HEA.

    My life is tough enough. I don’t need reality in what I read. I NEED ROMANCE! I need to know that somewhere out there people do fall in love and grow old together. So sue me! If that is selling out I have to say SOLD !!

  3. LOL, I’d’ve been there with David yelling, “Die, Tink!!!”

    However, in another movie moment (Miracle on 34th Street), I definitely believed in Santa.

    I’m with you on the HEA (or, as Sandee said elsewhere, the closure). I saw a discussion online about whether you could have a romance novel without an HEA and was surprised that some people actually insisted the answer was yes. The problem was that they didn’t understand what “romance novel” was and were including mainstream and women’s fiction. It took some doing to make them see that you could have a BOOK with a romantic relationship but no HEA but not a romance novel, since, by its very definition, a romance novel has a happy ending.

    And I’m all for not messing with the definition of romance novel. I love ’em the way they are.

  4. We all believe in fairies because they’re real!! All of the things that life throws at us can cause even the most level headed to see flashes of light, or believe that small things have been moved or replaced.

    One of my favorite children’s book series was called The Borrowers, there was a Borrower’s Aloft, Afield and Astream. All of them showed tiny people living in the walls of our homes that ‘liberated’ the dropped pins, buttons and spools for furniture and tools. Very cool concept and what’s not to believe…

    Fairies, fiction and happy endings speak to something deep within our psyches. We WANT life to be that simple, fair or reasonable. It isn’t. When we go looking for fiction, we want it to fulfill our expectations while life won’t. spw

  5. Meg–I’m that way about “romantic” movies. I get very unhappy when there is no HEA. How dare they advertize the movie as a romance???

  6. Meg–I the same way about “romance” movies. Anyone remember SOMERSET? I was about to demand my money back on that one.

  7. I liked that movie, Louisa. It was called NEVERLAND. I’ll have to look into renting it and watch it again.

  8. Okay, I just realized my first reply is the one I wrote this afternoon, but couldn’t get to post. How weird, since I’ve been off-line for hours.

  9. Marilyn–how wicked of you! Poor Tink.
    That’s what a lot of people don’t understand about Romeo and Juliet. Shakespeare wrote it as a tragedy, not a romance.

  10. Sandee–the first time I read the BORROWERS, it spooked me. I remember thinking every noise I heard in my dark bedroom was some little person creeping around.

Leave a Reply

