MEN . . . AGAIN

Last night some of us Sluts went to hear Sister Slut Jackie Kramer speak to Tulsa Night Writers.  As usual, Miz Jackie was wonderful!  Her topic was creating new characters, and she spoke about the differences between men and women.  I didn’t take notes, and I didn’t get a hand-out because so many people showed up to hear her, but she had some great advice.  I especially loved her comparisons between men and women — including the ones that men see life as a competition and women see it as a co-op.  She really hit the nail on the head, as she always does.

Rather than trying to recall the rest of her comparisons, I’m hoping she can be persuaded to share some of her insights here on the blog.

After all, I have proof she can be bribed, and I have dark chocolate.

7 thoughts on “MEN . . . AGAIN

  1. I agree, Marilyn. And supply us with copies of her hand out. Most of the RWI members didn’t get one because I figured we could get it from her later (i was the one passing them out…just fyi).

  2. Jackie,

    Excellent insights, as usual. You’re going to have to do this for RWI, no doubt.

    I love the fact that you point out that men look at things differently from women. Competition versus co-operation is a very wise and telling comparison. I believe that men compete and keep score. All of them, it’s only different by HOW they keep score.

    Too many writers make the men kind of hardened women in their thoughts and deeds. It reads false.

    Thanks for taking the time to type in your meeting notes. Sorry I couldn’t make the meeting!! spw

    • I like the competition thing, too. And the men-protect-women, women-protect-children one.

      It was a very good presentation. And RWI-ers filled one back row. 🙂

  3. I like the part about doing your dishes. Writers are maybe the few people who understand that when the voices start talking and you start listening, it doesn’t mean you’re off your meds. 🙂

    I really wish I could have been there. But thank you, Jackie, for taking the time to post your notes here.

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

