Dreams

Lately I’ve been having strange/weird/awesome dreams. The ones I remember long after I awaken are my favorites, naturally. I’ve always been a vivid dreamer. I’ve studied for tests, written essays, and even solved plot problems for my books!

I’ve had premonition dreams, which freaks me out the most. The gathering after my grandmother’s funeral is still as clear today as it was when I was ten. Made the mistake of telling my mother this one, and she flipped out.  My grandmother died two years later. So I don’t share these dreams with anyone.

As writers, I’m positive that our dreams, whether we remember them or not, are part of our creative intellect bubbling forth. DH and I share our dreams, either during our morning coffee or afternoon ‘how was your day’ time, and I appreciate his accepting attitude. My twisted sisters are also great listeners.

Do you remember your dreams? Do you dream in color? Have you used any of your dreams in stories? port aransas 11.22.8 032

13 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Meg,

    I am pretty sure I dream in color and I don’t think it has anything to do with the lights.

    My dreams are pretty random but I do have a lot of ‘flying’ dreams.

    I’ve always heard that dreams were your subconscious’ way of dealing with unfinished business, but I’ve never been able to harness that energy to suss out a plot difficulty or solve a problem. spw

    • Flying dreams, Sandee? Are you flying or in a vehicle that is flying? Or both?
      I hadn’t heard of the subconscious unfinished business, but it sounds good.

      • Meg,

        It’s always me flying like superman. Never in a vehicle which I would have to steer. Imagine me flying along the treetops without a cape. Usually at night, I guess I’m flying under the radar!

        Jan Hudson did some really great workshops about unlocking your dreams, and using relaxation techniques to free your inner muse. The information was very compelling. She was a clinical psychologist by trade, so she knew what she was talking about.

        You might need to find out what your dreams could be doing for you. spw

  2. Oh, yeah. I dream. And sometimes they are eeriely prophetic. Before my DH and I got married, before we even started talking about children, I dreamed I was introducing my children. I had 2 boys, both with dark hair and eyes, and a girl sandwiched in the middle, with light brown hair and blue eyes. 28+ years later, I have 2 boys, both with dark hair and eyes. And a girl, right between them, with…brown hair and blue eyes.

  3. I’m jealous that I don’t work out plot problems in my dreams. Not much, anyway. My dreams are usually rather strange and it depends on when I wake up as to whether I remember them or not. Some of them are down right freeky.

    Sandee, when I was younger, I had the same recurring dream and I could fly. I’d jump from one cloud to another. Haven’t had that one in a while, though. Oh, and I was a child in the dream. Hmm. Wonder if that’s why I’ve never “grown up”? lol

  4. I used to have dreams where I would get into some dangerous situation, then morph into someone else — stronger, tougher, more capable of self-defense. I haven’t had those in a long time. Wonder if it’s because I’ve gotten stronger and tougher for real?

    My sister and I have the same recurring dream: that we’ve bought a house and we walk through it and it just keeps getting bigger and bigger. We think we’ve seen everything and open a door, and there’s another ten or twenty rooms behind it. I have no clue what this dream means, or what it means that she and I both have it regularly.

    My other dreams are generally very disjointed. They don’t make sense when I’m having them or later when I remember them.

    • Marilyn–
      Awesome strength dreams. You are probably right about becoming stronger for real so you don’t need the extra.

      What a wonderfully strange recurring dream that both you & your sister share! My sister and I have both dreamed about our father on the same night.

      But aren’t senseless dreams wonderful in a way? No logic–completely Twisted! 🙂

      • Dream imagery is very cool. Generally, they do mean something consistent. Here’s what I found online for Marilyn’s new house with rooms appearing every time she opens a new door: “To dream that you find or discover new rooms, suggests that you are developing new strengths and taking on new roles. You may be growing emotionally. Consider what you find in the discovered room.”
        This is from the Dream Mood Dictionary (http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/). Very cool. I need to read what it says about flying dreams. spw

      • Neat, Sandee! And I can see where that’s true. We’re both making changes and doing other things, some of it by choice, some not. How cool is that??

Leave a Reply

