2010 Will Be Here Sooner Than You Think

Since January of this year I’ve lost forty pounds.  I say that not to break my arm patting myself on the back or solicit praise, but because over the last few months I have finally found the deep well of discipline I thought I might have let run dry.  The effort to get focused and reign in the chaos that surrounds my eating habits has seeped into other areas of my life, particularly my writing.  I used to just grab whatever and I usually ate on the go or at my desk.  I’d often say I didn’t have time to plan or think about what I was going to eat.  Over the last few months, I’ve learned that I do have time. It really doesn’t take all that much effort to think about eating well. I’ve learned to make myself slow down and take a break now and then, to sit down and enjoy a meal.  I’ve actually begun to use real plates…not paper ones! <big snort>

The discipline that I always had, but just didn’t engage, is now becoming a part of my writing routine. Just as I now make the time to walk an hour every day, I set aside the time to write an hour every day. It may just be crap or stream of consciousness, but I’m putting words on a page, and that’s what counts.  You can’t learn to play the piano or the guitar without practice. You can’t learn to write well unless you practice that too.

Naturally there are days when I don’t want to stick to the diet and I’d rather watch TV that walk or write.  The trick I’ve learned, is sticking to a routine, but when I mess up, forgive and move on. As the Holidays approach it will be tempting to fall off the wagon, to eat all that great food, and let writing fall by the wayside.  But when I think about the fact that I’ve already had to buy new clothes three times this year, and when I consider the requests I’ve had for partials and full manuscripts, basically when I see the discipline paying off, that’s my motivation  to stick with the diet and with the writing routine.

I have set two goals for 2010…by Halloween next year (my birthday) I want to shop at Victoria’s Secret without anyone vomiting on the floor. (bigger snort) And I want to have a publishing contract in my hot little hands.

2010 is not that far away.  Have you set your goals yet?

8 thoughts on “2010 Will Be Here Sooner Than You Think

  1. Meg,

    Thanks. It does take discipline but when I see the results, it’s easy to stay focused.

    BTW, looking forward to Saturday.

  2. Sandee:

    I would be happy to pass it on, maybe we should form a support group like our RWI Critique group. We can read and coach at the same time.

  3. Congrats! Forty pounds! Dear Lord woman! That’s like losing a four year old! I too must revamp my lifestyle- I can only hope I have results like yours! 🙂
    Goals for next year- to send out two MS that have been gathering dust and of course, to actually join this group. 🙂 I work weekend doubles so I couldn’t attend meetings, but at least then I would have an excuse for hanging around all the time. 😉

  4. Zinny:

    Yeah, 40lbs and I have mooooree to go. Hey the nice thing about this group is we help keep each other on target with goals. We hold each other accountable. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that you get those two MS sent out. What are you waiting for? Life ain’t gettin’ any longer!

    Glad you’re with us, even if it can only be online.

    LS

  5. Lynn, you’ve done such a great job. I’m proud of you!

    I’ve actually considered goals for 2010 — some serious, some silly. I want to plant a weeping willow in my front yard. To see an acupuncturist. To take a stained glass class. To get back to my former level of activity.

    Writing-wise, I want to find my way back to a regular schedule. Between my family and me, we’ve had so many medical emergencies in the past three years — I’d be afraid to count the number of days and nights we’ve spent in hospital rooms, ERs and OR waiting rooms. Guess I need to learn how to be creative in those environments.

  6. Marilyn:

    Funny, I want a weeping willow in my yard too. The thing is I want pine trees too. I want to take a class on painting. I used to do watercolors and oils years ago. I’d love to get back to it. I was taking Karate and guitar, but recently I decided to cut back on all my extra stuff and just focus solely on writing.

    You know you are in our prayers and we’re all sending healing thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

