Roller Coaster Ride

Last Saturday morning. I spent 3 1/2 hours, writing without stop.  The words just flowed from me.  It was all fresh, wonderful, awesome!  I wrote a total of 16 pages which finished Chapter 8 of my MIP, TEARS OF THE SUN, a chapter I’d been working on for over a year.  Okay, I know once I re-read what I’ve written, it won’t be as fresh, wonderful, or awesome as when I finished it.  In fact, when I go over it again, I’ll probably think it’s no more than okay.

That’s the trouble with this business…it rides you, up and down, just like a roller coaster.  Right now, I’m still up because I haven’t had time to re-write what I wrote.  But in the next few days, I’ll be getting the judges’ comments on the first chapter of TEARS that I submitted to the WHERE THE MAGIC BEGINS contest.  Part of the downward cycle has already started because I already know how many total points I got compared to the other entrants.

Understand, I didn’t actually want to final.  Heck, my book is no where ready to submit.  But a small part of me, shared a disappointment with the entrants that I didn’t final.  Again, a downward move on the coaster.  And when the comments come in…Yep, you guessed it.  I’ll hit rock bottom.  I’ll mope around, feeling like I should keep my day job.   (Oh, wait, my mortgage company thinks I should keep my day job!)

Then I’ll get very pissed.  How dare these sluts tell me what’s wrong with my story?  Growl, grumble, snort.  And a few other words I can’t say because this is a family blog…sort of.   My anger will fire my will to “show” them they don’t know what they’re talking about. 

Finally, I’ll look at the comments and get all these great ideas of where I can either incorporate the suggestions or get a path to use based on the comments.  I’ll get all excited and write, hopefully with the same kind of flow I had last Saturday.  And maybe this time as I make that upward swoop on the roller coaster, this time I’ll fly right off the tracks and straight into a sale.

God, I love this ride!

10 thoughts on “Roller Coaster Ride

  1. Jackie,

    I HATE the roller coaster ride. The ups and downs really throw me off. I’m not as good at dusting myself up and putting myself back ‘out there’ as you seem to be. I love it when the words are flowing, but when the comments come back on my entry, I’m sure I’ll hit rock bottom and spend days thinking about whether or not I’m just spinning my wheels. spw

  2. At least you guys have been on the ride. I’ve been too much of a chicken to even get in line, but now that I’ve got some awesome writers at my back I don’t think they’ll let me back out of getting on this time.

    RD

  3. I’m with you on this. I just got done reading my critique from one of the partials I submited to WTMB..I’m not sure where the critique of the other one is.. but I’m sure its coming. Anyway- one judge tore me apart. 🙂 I read and re-read that critique wondering exactly where I had gone wrong and as these are the first two manuscripts I have ever finished, not to mention ever had the guts to let someone else read, I was a little devastated. But then I went back to the other two and both of those judges really liked my work and commented that they would like to see more. Why had I spent so long staring at the bad critique and hadn’t given the other two more than quick read through? You know what- two outta three ain’t bad! And when I am published, and I WILL be one day, I’m going to get a few bad reviews from time time. I’m glad that third judge tore me apart. I had better start learning to take it now- not to mention that a few of their points were probably valid. 😉
    So yes, the roller coaster ride… the dips leave you screaming, but when you’re flung up into the air- that makes it all worth it.
    Thanks for the post. I feel like I’m part of the group. *sniff* 🙂

    • Zinny, I don’t have a clue who wrote the entries I judged, but I have to admit that I’ve got a reputation as a tough judge. My theory is that it’s not what you’re doing RIGHT that’s stopping you from selling, but what you’re doing WRONG. Since I want everyone I judge to sell one day, my focus is on helping them to see what’s not working. So even though the one judge didn’t love your story, keep an open mind and consider that she might have some valid points!

      You’re absolutely right about bad reviews, negative letters, one-stars on Amazon, and editors who couldn’t care less how important your book is to you. Toughening the skin is one of the skills you need to develop from the start, along with point of view, characterization and writing emotion. This is not a business for the faint of heart!

    • Zinny–Marilyn speaks the truth. My first manuscript would never have sold if it hadn’t been for all the great critiquers and judges who took the time to show me the True Path. 🙂

  4. I’m impressed! An Excel spreedsheet. It would probably take me longer to set up the spreed sheet than it’s worth…despite Linda’s great workshop on Excel.
    As for your judges, they must be the same trashy B****** I’ve had for judges at times. Hmmm, maybe they make a living at it.

  5. I know, I’m dreading going over my RS judge comments. I did see one where the judge said that my entry read more like a Harlequin Intrigue than a Single Title. She doesn’t know yet, but that’s a great compliment. My target market with the entry IS Harlequin Intrigue. If she thinks it was the flavor of an HI, maybe when I finish it, it will actually sell.

Leave a Reply

