Rejections R Us

Aspiring author sends off her latest manuscript, which makes a quick turnaround and arrives back at her house. Her teenage son tears open the envelope, and that yucky grayish padding stuff falls out. “Wow, Mom,” he says, impressed. “They hated this one so much, they burned it and sent you the ashes.”

To Rudyard Kipling: “I’m sorry, Mr. Kipling, but you just don’t know how to use the English language.”

From an editor reviewing The Bridge Over the River Kwai: “A very bad book.”

From an editor who turned down The War of the Worlds: “Oh, don’t read that horrid book.”

To William Faulkner: “Good God, I can’t publish this!”

There. Don’t you feel better now?

4 thoughts on “Rejections R Us

  1. That is so true. We won’t get published if we don’t put ourselves out there. Time, and time, and time again. {multiply that by x factor}

    How many times was J K Rowling turned down? Now look at her. Who’s to say our works won’t do the same for us?

    Personally, I think RWI is a great supporter of it’s members. Without this chapter, I might have given up long ago. But, nope, all my sisters stay on my back and I keep writing. It’s like breathing, can’t quit or I’d expire. 🙂

  2. I heard once that Stephen King was rejected on more than 45 manuscripts… but he persevered. When he finally published and HIT, he had a stack of books that were dusted off and released in short order… making him a household name. spw

  3. Ah, Ms. M! you are the shining light breaking through my dour and gloomy existance! Even though I haven’t gotten one of those ‘packages’ recently (is HQ still doing that??) I’ve been suffering a slight writer’s burnout. Thanks for the reminder!
    New year and new goals!
    Cheers

  4. Ah, yes, I do feel better now.
    John Grisham also faced multiple rejections, and his first book didn’t sell well until after he made it.
    Without my sisters, I wouldn’t have gotten published, nor finished any books or stories.

Leave a Reply

