What’s on Your Reading List?

Yesterday, Sandee asked, “What would you rather write?” So I wondered when you’re not reading or writing romance, what do you read? Books are the frugal frigate to wonderful worlds. Whenever I get the chance, and I’m not writing, I read.  Someday when I’m dead, they’ll take the books I have stored in my office and garage and create the Lynn Somerville Memorial Library. A plaque near the front door will read, “She loved rock music, books, her family, and chocolate. She lived and loved well.”

I keep a stack of books on my nightstand. That way I can always find something I’m in the mood to read. The list is a little eclectic. Tucked in with my stash of romance novels are such great reads as :

Save Me From Myself, the autobiography of Brian Head Welch

Ghosts by Noel Hynd

Among the Shadows by L.M. Montgomery. This is a collection of ghost stories written by the author of Anne Green Gables fame.

Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

The Witch of Goingsnake and Other Stories by Robert Conley

Storm Front by Jim Butcher

And finally… The Rag and Bone Shop of the Heart. This is a wonderful collection of poems by and for men.

Care to share what’s on your reading list?

9 thoughts on “What’s on Your Reading List?

  1. Hey, Lynn–
    I just received my copy of Stephen King’s ON WRITING. Read the 2nd foreward and laughed so hard that coffee…well, you can guess the rest.

    I actually have a mountain of books, not romance to be read, as research. I’m slowly gathering all the Sylvia Browne books, I have numerous on ghosts, Don gave me GHOSTHUNTING IN TEXAS, for Christmas–was that a hint about weekend road trips while we still have weekends open?

    My problem is squeezing in the time to read. A huge gift to me would be a day of *pleasure* reading.

    Thanks for a great post. 🙂

  2. My TBR is woefully lacking. I’ve got a Vicki Lewis Thompson book and an old Christin Dodd that I want to reread, a couple of nonfictions, and a couple of ebooks. Now that I have high speed Internet here at home, I need to go SHOPPING.

  3. Lynn,

    My TBR pile fills two shelves in my bedroom. I had a friend go through a bunch of books and instead of taking them to the used book store, she brought them to me. So, I have a little of everything to pick from.

    I loved Storm Front. I’ve read all the Jim Butcher Dresden Files (and bought the first season on DVD of the ScyFy series) and loaned them out to my son, whose thanked me for ‘turning him on to Harry Dresden’.

    I love to read. I read for enjoyment all the time. But I only read fiction. Life’s too short for non-fiction. Except writing books, I guess I read a few of them. spw

  4. I’ve already gotten MP’s latest Copper Lake book read. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed. (But then, you never are with her books.)

    I have to admit that the only thing on my TBR shelf right now is romance. However, in the past I’ve read Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Tony Hillerman, James Patterson. The list goes on as I really do enjoy a wide range of genre’s.

  5. Lynn, my daughter has that book by Brian Head Welch. She’s read it twice I think. She loves the guy. I want to read that one myself. She says its very eye opening. 🙂

    I don’t usually read anything but romance. But lately everything I pick up stinks. I don’t know if its me, because I’m so picky, or if they really do stink. LOL

  6. Glad I’m not the only one. Right now, I’m reading HARRY POTTER #1, FOREVER, ERMA by Erma Bombeck, CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE WRITERS’ SOUL, and will be starting my RITA books tonight.

Leave a Reply

