The Road

I have this painting in my living room. It was one of my mother’s favorites–my sister got the 5′ x 6′ painting that was Mother’s ultimate favorite! So why is this making my post?

Because it tells so much with a glance. I know the details aren’t clear enough but can you tell what time of year it is? What part of the country? What year is it?

What intrigues me the most is what awaits down the road? I envision myself on Gambler (my Paint gelding) as we ride down that road. Will we see deer? A wild hog? Other critters? Is there a huge stone ranch house somewhere? Or is there just miles and miles of beautiful country? The possibilities are endless as is the road.

Do you have a favorite piece of art that inspires you?

(Answers: Spring–late March-early April because the flowers are bluebonnets. Area–the Hill Country of Texas with the light soil on the road. There is no answer to the year. The painting was purchased in the 70s.)

10 thoughts on “The Road

  1. My favorite piece of art is Michelangelo’s La Pieta. It’s a sculpture and not a painting but it moves me to such depths. Something about Jesus’ mother cradling his dead body…It is heartwrenching to witness a mother’s loss.

    The sculpture doesn’t make me dream of possiblities like your painting, but it makes me FEEL. Every time I see it, I tear up. And that’s inspiring.

    I long to create work that pulls emotion from those who read it. I think good art does that, takes you along for the ride so you feel exactly as the author felt when they created the piece.

    Had a moment when I read “FROM THE SHADOWS.” When KC settles in on the shooting range and the smoke reminds her of her last mission as an agent, I felt her emotion. When the training sergeant orders her to stand down after she’d emptied the clip and reached for more rounds, I got a little teary, too. Wow! Great stuff.

    RD

    • I think the original is in St. Peter’s Basilica. I’ve only seen it in art books and the internet, but Michelangelo’s version is the one that hits me the hardest. The other interpretations are missing something I can’t put my finger on. And, yes, the next time you plan a trip to the Vatican I think I’ll stow away with you. 🙂

      RD

  2. Great painting! I too have a favorite picture…I might have to steal your idea and post it on my blog. 🙂

    Images can be very emotional, very moving and very inspiring. Depending on the picture. The art I love usually involves a look in the eyes. For me the eyes have it. Sometimes an artist will capture that perfect look and I’m drawn in.

  3. Meg,

    I do think that art provides an opportunity to image what’s next. I’ve always had a framed poster of Renoir’s Girl Reading (http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.fineartprintsondemand.com/artists/renoir/girl_reading-400.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.fineartprintsondemand.com/artists/renoir/girl_reading.htm&usg=__Cn_qUBDV3Hm36fUn_-Tt03NN0do=&h=400&w=319&sz=19&hl=en&start=18&itbs=1&tbnid=3p0l6ab5U0wPwM:&tbnh=124&tbnw=99&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dgirl%2Breading%26hl%3Den%26gbv%3D2%26tbs%3Disch:1) in my home. I like to think about what book she was into and what one she’d pick up next. In my more perverse moments I try to imagine a life when sitting around in a high necked lace blouse and velvet fitted jacket to read a book was common!! spw

  4. I’ll have to post a picture of my favorite piece. I bought it just before Christmas from a little art gallery in town, and it’s gorgeous, though I can easily imagine most people I know looking at it and going, “Huh.” The first time I saw it, I immediately thought, “There’s a story there.” Don’t know if it’s MY story, but it’s my painting so . . .

  5. I have a reproduction of La Pieta; it’s my favorite Michaelangelo piece.
    Meg–I see a returning Civil War soldier, wending his way home, battered and weary, needing only the love of a good woman to heal his soul.

Leave a Reply

