Balance

Wish I had more of it, with my writing and life and physically. I used to have both, but now? As for life, I know it will come back or I will adjust. Physically? Let me just say I won’t be doing backflips or cartwheels on a balance beam anymore. And I can’t cross the wire on Wii.

On Tuesday, I experienced vertigo at the bottom of the pool. I was helping students do out of air ascents, so I can understand the physiology of why I might have become disoriented. But I had such clarity of what was happening to my body.

And the weird/good thing:  I was calm. Whether that came from training, stupidity, or knowing that I was completely safe if I got into further distress, I wasn’t worried.  Even writing this, I can still feel the weightlessness, the slight spinning. Being able to recreate the sensation, I can inject this into my stories. The hero or heroine can have their world become totally unbalanced. 

As word weavers, we don’t have to experience every sensation to create it. I don’t want to die, although I’ve come close a couple of times. I don’t want to be shot or stabbed or poisoned. Being able to translate what happens in everyday life to paper is awesome.  

Taking balance away from a character will show what s/he is made of.

11 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Meg,

    I know exactly how you feel! I’m not a scuba diver, but several years ago, I got a very bad ear infection that persisted. The biggest single symptom was that I was dizzy… for about 6 weeks. It was an endless period for me. That feeling of vertigo, when you lay on your back and the bed starts flipping on you, is something that I will always be able to describe–because I felt it daily for so long. We do tap into all our experiences, good and bad. spw

  2. I just saw this on the daily motivator… seems like it speaks to your column: ”The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.” (M. Scott Peck)

  3. You try an inner ear infection. I spent the night with a friend and awoke to swaying. I asked Joyce if she’d turn her house into a houseboat overnight. I took some meds, but it took a week to resolve. Meanwhile, it was the only time in my life were I was woozy with puking. Very different.

  4. I’ve only had one sinus infection that was so bad I had to hang onto the walls to walk. The bed also ‘floated’. Did NOT like the feeling!

    Glad you made it through the scuba event okay, Meg. But yes, we need our character’s to be unbalanced, to have their world’s turned upside down, then find a way to overcome the issues. Only then can they have an HEA.

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

    • Linda–
      So sorry. I’ve had hangovers that bad. Wasn’t a pleasant two days.

      Thanks…I’m glad I didn’t drown. 🙂

      You’re welcome.

  5. I have to admit, I kinda like being off-balance from time to time. Maybe it’s like the Peck quote — it pushes me to step out and do something differently. Or maybe it’s because my life gets out of balance so often that it actually feels kind of comfortable. Hm…

Leave a Reply

