Passion

As we craft our HEA stories , do you ever wonder what happens to passion a few years later?

Truthfully, the initial bloom–or the “I-can’t-wait-to-rip-your-clothes-off– fades. The honeymoon phase, lust, or whatever term you wish to use, either mellows or the relationship ends. Life just doesn’t let us stay at that highly emotional (and physical) state.

On the other hand, I don’t want to write or read about a couple who are so comfortable together that bodily functions are blasé. I’m pretty sure that a farting contest would not make it past an editor. Belching is a major turn off always. And watching a bunch of guys try to pee over a pickup–or the farthest–I’m just glad it wasn’t MY truck.

Without passion, what would a relationship be? Dull Boring Lifeless! I know I would throw the book down. I’ve got enough ho-hum in my world (okay, not really as it seems to be crammed full at the moment) that when I read, I want to experience that “can’t wait to get naked with you.”

Passion is needed in our work, in the world we create, and in our souls.

10 thoughts on “Passion

  1. You’re right, Meg, we do have to work to maintain passion in our lives. Hopefully, when one passion mellows you can find another…and one that you can share with your true love. aka your DH

    Great post!

  2. Hi Meg,
    I absolutely agree with you, passion is highly needed in our work. Not only as a writer but as a reader, I seek for that passion in the stories that I read; no passion, no reading after the first 50 pages!

  3. Meg,

    I agree that the passion is the part that is most interesting in a relationship. I think that’s why the beginnings are what we read in our fantasy fiction. Keeping the passion in your relationship can be a life long process. Interesting, but not what keeps a reader turning pages. spw

  4. What a great discussion. Without passion our lives lack purpose and meaning. If we’re not fighting, loving, hating someone or something, what in the world are we still doing here?

    RD

Leave a Reply

