Perspective

As I’m writing this, I have FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS on. I didn’t start watching this show until this year. I tried earlier–really tried to get into the story as I’d liked the movie. I like that the show is filmed in Austin, Tx, my hometown. I like high school football. My daughter was a mascot for a year, and my son played varsity for 4 years with his senior year playing both offense and defense.

Why watch now? My perspective changed.

This season I know one of the actors. The young woman who plays “bad girl” Pam is the talented Madison Burge. She is my nephew’s sister-in-law. I met her at his wedding. I was impressed then, and even more now. I have questions about FNL I would love to ask, but I won’t.

I just love it when my perspective changes.

BTW: That’s my son at 9 years old.

7 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Cute kiddos!

    I love embracing new ideas and when someone really smart shows me a different way of looking at things.

    The other day I was bemoaning taking care of a patient with Huntington’s chorea, a debilitating brain disease. I mentioned that the patient’s life seemed less full because the disease severely limits motor and verbal responses. Another person pointed out that life is almost at OUR will and if the patient didn’t have anything to fight for s/he would have given up a long time ago.

    I always said I’d sign my DNR at 40 in case any massive brain injury was impending…now, I’m not so sure. Different perspective. Same nurse.

    Maybe I could find a reason to keep hanging out even if I’m not physically and mentally as expressive as I’d like to be. And if I don’t thnik it’s worth it, I can always check out at my will. Maybe…

    RD

    • RD–
      That gives me a different perspective about DNR. My father, sister and I all agreed on his signing on, and I have already.

      The fight and will to survive are powerfully strong!!

  2. I truly believe your perspective changes if you have to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes (so to speak).

    Finding yourself in the same situation as others you might have previously criticized will definitely change your perspective. As an example, how you act/react after an ugly divorce. Suddenly, an action you might have thought intolerable or unacceptable isn’t so bad after all.

  3. Linda–
    I agree with being in someone else’s shoes. I can tell you though that ugly divorces really change perspectives and tolerances! 😉

  4. Embrace the changes! Without the change in perspectives, there is no growth. And without growth, there is stagnation and death. I’m not talking just about life, but also our writing.

Leave a Reply

