Summer’s Here

If I had pulled a Rip Van Winkle and just woken from a long sleep, I’d still know the time of year without ever looking at the calendar. Just by the sights, sounds, and scents I gather from my front porch, I’d know it’s summer. Blackberry bushes loaded with green, not yet ripe berries, crowd the fence row. Motorcycles and pick-up trucks towing boats race down the highway in front of my house toward the Illinois River.  The smell of honeysuckle and magnolia blossoms tease the air. Lightening bugs twinkle in the night and June bugs bounce against the light above the front door. From my place on the front porch swing, I can hear the baseball game on TV in the family room. Here’s hoping the Cardinals have a great season.  As I take a bite of homemade strawberry ice cream, I sigh contentedly, “This is summer.”

She’s come to visit, and after all the ice and snow of last winter, I hope she stays for a long time.

9 thoughts on “Summer’s Here

  1. Lynn–
    I hadn’t thought about those things. We have the heat here, and the blackberries have almost finished yielding their fruit. I have a gardenia bush that is blooming.
    Great post!

    • Meg,

      I love gardenias. I need to look for a bush here locally. I’d forgotten how much I like their fragrance. We’ll have blackberries about July 4th. Then I’ll make a cobbler and homemade ice cream.

  2. Lynn,

    That is a nice idyllic scene you’ve described. This menopausal woman would spell it out a little differently!! LOL! spw

  3. Lynn,
    Love your descriptions. I can hear, taste and smell every single one. Which to me says, ‘HOME’. 😉

    By the way, you forgot to mention chiggers, ticks, snakes and poison ivy. All very real reminders what else the heat brings out in NE Oklahoma. 😦

  4. In my neighborhood summer is the sound of lawnmowers at the crack of dawn, kids yelling down the street as they pedal their bikes with cards clipped to the spokes, and the ice cream man making multiple circuits playing loud music-which is not the old classic instrumental, instead it’s some KIDZ BOP version of a some rap song. 🙂

    Ahh, summer!

    We haven’t had a meal cooked inside since the last day of school. Summer just started and I think we should invest in charcoal stock. I don’t know how many more grilled burgers or dogs my stomach can stomach. How many more days? Are adults the only ones that count down ’til summer is over and the kids can go back to school? 🙂 JK. I love the summer. More sunshine and more time to spend in it. It’s always too short for me. Maybe we should do a favorite summer memory theme next week? This week? I’d love to hear the stories.

    • Amen, sister. Amen! We just celebrated my oldest son’s 27th BD. I kept looking at him thinking, he’s not 27. I’m not old enough to have a son that old. Then I look in the mirror. Yes, I am. LOL!

  5. The older I get, the more I love summer. I could live without the snakes (killed my first copperhead a few weeks ago), the mosquitos, the flies and the poison ivy, but I’m happy with the rest. I like the heat, love working outside and getting dirty and tired and really stinky-sweaty. I know I’ve accomplished something.

    Lovely post, Lynn.

  6. My absolute favorite summertime sound is of the air conditioner…from inside the house! I resent that our spring this year was so short.

Leave a Reply

