Multi-tasking

Are you a multi-tasker?

I am. I have to be with everything that I have going on. But I wish it applied more to my writing–as in being able to write on many stories at once. My to be written list is almost as long as my to be read pile of books. I really thought this summer I would have it all together with the goals that I’ve set–both weekly and monthly.

If I lived in a well-ordered world, I’m sure I would be finished with my projects as long as others didn’t keep adding to my list.

But until then, I will take on a couple of tasks at a time.Ā Ā  šŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Multi-tasking

  1. I can multi-task on writing projects — I just don’t like to. I prefer to immerse myself wholly in one story and get it done as fast as I can (because after I spend X amount of time with characters, if their story’s not done, I’d rather kill ’em and move on).

    I don’t make to-do lists except for important things like appointments (snort — getting a dental appt and rescheduling a urology appt I cancelled have been on that list for a month now). I just generally do things that come to mind and let the others slide.

    I’m disorganized, undisciplined and forgetful. šŸ˜‰

  2. Meg,

    I wish I could say that I’m good at multi-tasking. I used to be really good at it. But recently, I’ve lost my mind… menopause robbed me of a lot. I’m hoping it will get better soon. I’d like to feel competent again.

    It’s best for me if I focus on one thing at a time. I can juggle a few, but I always drop something. spw

    • Unfortunately, the M, does rob you of a lot. It does get better–took me two years, so I am with you on that.

      Sometimes, multitasking isn’t good.

  3. I’m a list maker, but only with the DDJ. When it comes to writing, I don’t care to multi-task or have more than one project going at once. Like Marilyn, I like to get fully immersed. But since I started writing and posting at short story a week, I’ve had to learn to multi-task a little bit.

  4. Meg, I don’t know if you call it multi-tasking, but if I didn’t have my LISTS, I’d get nothing done. Yep, lists…I have to write down every thing from housework, errands, chores, to writing or I’m dashing from thing to thing without finishing anything. *Sigh*

Leave a Reply

