Like a Bottle Rocket

While waiting for my dive buddy, I flipped through one of those small weekly magazines that come with our newspaper. Inside was an article about a 61-year-old (THIN) woman who has maintained her same weight for the last 44 years. The gist of the article was to inspire other older people (so, are you talking about me?) to stay in shape.

BAAAZZZIIIINGGGGG! Off like a bottle rocket went my Offend Meter. I was so blazing over the slant of this article that I dashed off four –front and back– pages of rebuttal on a legal pad.  In fact after two full days, I’m still angry. I’m battling weight/self-image/acceptance/age/hormones (take your pick of which one is most important), and articles like this do NOT inspire me.    Duh!

Like the romance novels of old always had the waif-like heroine with a heart-shaped face, and large eyes. (Reminds me of a bug.) The hero always tall, built like Adonis, fabulously wealthy, never had bad breath, swept her off her feet.  If you don’t count my size before the age of ten, I haven’t been swept off my feet and carried any distance. Certainly not up any stairs and onto a bed. (My son has picked me up only because I told him he couldn’t. My high school sweetie–he was a football player also lifted me off the ground, but he was also a football player. The grunts and groans weren’t inspiring! And it hurt.)

How can I relate to a heroine who doesn’t have meat on her bones? Who has to be rescued by the hero?  I can’t. Just like I can’t relate the woman in the article. But then again, maybe I should thank her for getting my writing hackles up.

10 thoughts on “Like a Bottle Rocket

  1. LOL, Meg! I just saw a short piece on TV about self-acceptance and how we have to be a happy us and ignore society’s dictates. The woman who did the talk would probably smack the writer of that article upside the head with a hefty book or something.

    I remember all those wide-eyed innocent waifs — usually British! — and those fabulously wealthy heroes (usually British, Italian or Greek). God, I was desperate for reading material to keep reading that stuff. Shudder!!

    My aunt has gained only five pounds since high school, and she’d be the first to tell you that it’s genetics and doesn’t matter, anyway. It doesn’t make her a better wife, mother, grandmother, aunt, sil, etc. It doesn’t affect her self-esteem in any way. It’s just a detail to her, like having brown eyes and dark hair and a big nose.

      • LOL!!

        I consider it this way: I’ve grown smarter, more independent, more capable, more talented, more compassionate, and more reliable. so my body’s grown a bit to accommodate all that. 😉

  2. I hate perfect characters and perfect people. They’re so boring and too much like stepford wives. There’s nothing more dull than being perfect.

    Ya, know there’s an advantage to having a little meat on your bones. Women with a little fuller face, age more gracefully. They often tend to look much younger than they really are. How’s that for a plus?

  3. Lynn,
    I consider that a BIG plus.
    I don’t like perfect people either. Just want to mess up hair that doesn’t have a strand out of place.
    😉

  4. You know, we are who we are. God made each of us different so life wouldn’t be the same ole’, same ole’. i.e. BORING. I have my dad’s long arms and legs (at age 86 he’s still 6’4″). As a result, a lot people think I’m about a size 6. Uh – NOT! Growing up I was gangly, had no shape and was self-conscious about my looks. I’m more self-confident now but still struggle with low self-esteem.

    Meg, you’re beautiful both inside and out. Be grateful the woman’s article got your writing hackles up, but other than that – blow her off.

Leave a Reply

