Writeritous

I’ve spent the last few days talking to college students in Norman, Tulsa, and Stillwater about their futures.  Some were confident – they know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives. Some had that deer-in-the-headlights expression on their faces. They don’t know. They just don’t know.  The party’s nearly over and they’re scared witless.

As I spoke to them I realized I’ve always known what I wanted to do – write. Regardless of the job I took to pay the bills, I wanted to write and did. And when I landed my dream job, as a campaign manager and Field Representative for a California State Assemblyman,  I was in heaven. I wrote every day, not fiction, but press releases and all his Op Ed pieces.  It didn’t matter, because I was writing.

I’ve lived in many different parts of the country – Ft. Smith, St. Louis, Southern California, now Northeastern Oklahoma. Everywhere I live, no matter what job I hold down to make ends meet, I still write.

In 5th grade I discovered I had the talent to entertain people with a story. I got infected the disease – Writeritous – and there is no cure.

So to borrow from Susan, I’m terminally curious.  When did you know you wanted to be a writer? Have you recently been infected or have you always had the “bug”?

10 thoughts on “Writeritous

  1. I think I was born to tell stories. In elementary, I stapled blank sheets of paper together, made books and the read them to my mom and dad. In high school I turned into a poet, essay writer, debater and public speaker. Then I went to college and got a “real job” sans writing.

    As a hobby I would occasionally start a story and then stick it in a drawer or help someone write a term paper or essay for school. I got sucked into writeritous two years ago when i had this amazing dream that’s held me in its grip ever since. I hope to be sick with it for the rest of my life. Like Flyleaf! 🙂

  2. Ren:

    I know you were born to share your stories. And I love Ashren and Coree’s story. I can’t wait to read more of it. I’m pretty sure you’re destined to suffer from writeritous for years to come.

  3. I never knew I wanted to be a writer until I met Karen Fleming. She was a Star Trek fan and introduced me to the world of fanzines. These are magazines written, edited, illustrated, and printed by fans for sale to fans. No profit, just a common love of ST when there were no new episodes. Once I started writing, I couldn’t stop. It fulfilled a need in me that I wasn’t even aware I had. Once started, I just couldn’t stop…thank God!

  4. I’ve never read a fanzine but I’ve heard so much about them, I’m going to have to. Writing about something you’re passionate about, even if there is no profit in it, is so much fun. I’m glad you started writing and didn’t stop. Now I’m volunteering to be a Beta reader for you. Can’t wait.

  5. I took a creative writing course in 5th grade, but I’d always made up stories. When my life turned really rotten, I wanted to write my own happy ending–and after reading McKenzie’s Mountain by Linda Howard. I loved to read, and when I hated I story I thought I could do better.
    I will be a writer whether I sell or not.

  6. I’ve wanted to write since I was in grade school…wanted to describe the farm I grew up on. Problem was, I wasn’t sure how to do it ‘right’. Even then, my internal editor had kicked in. But I did write, poems (which I suck at), songs (again, which I suck at) and of course have always made up stories, creating characters.

    I have to admit that I put my writing on hold for a number of years after I became an adult. Then, when I hit a milestone birthday, gave myself permission to try. Been writing ever since.

  7. Lynn,

    You know when you’re in 7th grade and everyone begins to realize that someday they’ll be an adult? You stop having ‘reading class’ and start having ‘English class’? That’s about the time they started giving us standardized tests for job selection in Texas. I can remember looking at the random questions and answering them as honestly as I could. Then the test told me I should either work outside (like in a nursery) or be a salesman. I can remember looking at those outcomes and thinking, “crazy”. So I talked to my English teacher about my career selections… and she told me I should be a writer. She said I had skills.

    Until that conversation, I really didn’t think of what I would be when I grew up… after that, I’d always think, “well, I KNOW I can write!” because Mrs. Able told me so.

    spw

Leave a Reply

