A Slut Returns

Meg here, and it’s been awhile since I’ve blogged. I’ve had a lot going on. So much that I forgot to post on my regular time!

Writing is like that too. One of my favorite TV persons is Sylvia Browne. Now this isn’t a blog about her, but about something she repeats quite often. A desert period. I think mine has been more of a “let’s solve this problem with dessert,” period.

While I seldom go through a day without thinking about a story, I’m finding that I’m not sitting in the chair writing. My usual mode is to beat myself up. Afterall, I am the Princess of My Own Worst Enemy!

This is neither productive or useful. But one of the great things I’ve discovered in my life is that I can hit that reset button and start fresh. It may be a small start, but it will be a start.

15 thoughts on “A Slut Returns

  1. Meg,

    I hear you… I think I’m my own worst critic too. If I’m writing, I’m not good enough. If I’m not writing, I’m an idiot. If I’m creating or plotting a story in my head, I’m wasting time…

    If I listen to the voices, I’d never get anything done… HA!! Back to the keyboard. spw

  2. Listen to the character voices, Sandee. Just tune out your own nasty little voices.

    Meg, every day is a perfect chance to hit that reset button. Isn’t that cool? I haven’t done much work the past six weeks, but every day can be the day I start again. In fact, I’ve got to get offline and get some stuff together to send to my agent . . .

    Welcome back!

  3. Welcome back, Meg! It’s hard getting back into the swing of things, regardless of what it is, after a lengthy absence. Personally, I can make all kinds of excuses. Mainly it’s because I’ve lost the thread of the story in my head as well as the characters voices.

    Don’t beat yourself up. Work back into the groove slowly and before you know it, you’ll have your head of steam back. Just give yourself permission to go slow at first, to NOT write perfect prose and simply enjoy what you’re doing.

    • Thanks, Linda!!
      I just don’t have a clue what to write. Whether it is overload or underwhelmed. πŸ™‚

      I will prevail as I’ve new worlds to conquer.

  4. Hey Meggy!

    Glad to see you up and at ’em. Love your positive attitude. Love that you give yourself permission to erase the debts of the past and begin fresh. It’s all water under the bridge but when you can still see that !@#$%^& napkin you threw in the water weeks ago a couple of boat lengths ahead of your charted course and you’re quickly catching up to it with no way to retrieve it…you start to feel a little guilty about the debris you added to the environment.

    Sorry…off on a metaphorical tangent. πŸ™‚

    Great to have your voice back on the block.

    • Ah, but the metaphor works in my case because I can dive in that ol’ river and get whatever was lost…or found. One of the neatest things I learned this weekend is that there are people who are just waiting to help. Ask! Another thing I learned was that we are all stronger than we think.

      Thanks, Ren!

  5. Meg, so glad to see you back! Missed ya, sweet cheeks!
    Glad to say, I’ve hit the re-set button myself. Still not on a regular schedule, but I AM getting some writing done every day…and on stuff I could sell. Even did about 1000 words at Retreat. My voices are still talking to me, but I’m ignoring the b*tches.

    • Oh, I have those voices too–the nasty ho-hos!
      Thank you for the kind words and sorry I jumped on your day to blog.

      I keep saying today is when I’ll write, just after I finish this or that. Having Don almost healthy has made a HUGE difference.

  6. MegN —

    Really glad you’re back on the SLUTs blog! I’ve missed your blog posts! Big time!

    And we’re REALLY looking forward to seeing you IN PERSON this week!

    ~VBEG~ πŸ˜‰

  7. Meg,

    So glad to see you’re back. I think sometimes we are our own worst enemies, and our harshest critics. What we do isn’t easy and sometimes we have to go to the well to get a refill. Whatever you were doing before that kept you from writing wasn’t wasted time or a bad thing. It was foder for your next book. We writers are always writing in our heads, even when we’re not in front of a computer. We file away our experiences for future reference.

Leave a Reply

