Election Day

Today is election day!

Have you voted? Are you planning on it? IF not, why not. Women fought for our right to vote.

Even though the article  http://www.fwhc.org/why-women-vote.htm by Connie Schultz of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, Ohio, was written in 2004, it is floating around emails right now about why women should vote. I know RWIers have seen it on our loop, but The Sluts have other readers.

I feel very strongly about everyone exercising their right to vote. So much blood was shed to obtain and preserve this right.

Even though I’m out of the country right now, Don & I used the early voting option. Hey, I even got a vote for governor of Texas!

Suffrage for Women – The Right to Vote

On August 26, 1920, the United States ratified the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, granting women the right to vote. The struggle for women’s suffrage lasted for more than half a century.

  • About the film Iron Jawed Angels which presents a dramatized version of the events leading to suffrage, 1915-1920.
  • Night of Terror So Women Can Vote – by Louise Bernikow of WeNews
  • Advertisements

    6 thoughts on “Election Day

    1. Hubby and I voted first thing this morning. Had to stand in line, but only for about 10 minutes before we had our ballots. I’d studied all the state issues last night, reviewed who was running for which office so had my mind pretty well made up before I walked in the place. I’m proudly wearing my “I VOTED” sticker. 🙂

      Thanks for the reminder of what those who came before us had to go through so we, as women, would have this right.

    2. I actually just watched IRON JAWED ANGELS. Was very moving. I would like to get a hold of that book or movie? NIGHT OF TERROR.

      It’s a privilage to vote. I hope all Americans realize that. 🙂
      I’m voting this evening.

    Leave a Reply

