Bah, Humbug!

No, I’m not anti-Christmas.  What…miss out on presents and eating more chocolate??  This blog is all about people who deserve coal in their stockings.  First, you have to understand that the older I get, the more like the cartoon character Maxine I become.  Most of the time, when drivers do unacceptable things like when the lanes go from two to one and some yahoo speeds up to the end of the closing lane, then pushes his way in ahead of the rest of us who have been patiently awaiting their turn.  And then there are the dummies who enable this behaviour by letting them get away with it.

The rest of the year, my “road rage” takes the form of wishing that when they leave their house the next morning that they will find all four tires flat.  I never wish a flat tire on someone driving; I want to inconvenience them, not kill them and other drivers.  But in December, I’m filled with Christmas spirit, so instead of wishing for flat tires, I wish that Santa will fill their stockings with a lump of coal for each offense they’ve committed against someone during the year.

So, to all drivers who drive like they own the road, a lump of coal.  To all contest judges who judge harshly or unfairly, a lump of coal.  To every parent who has lied to or disappointed their child, a lump of coal.  To all idiot politicians who make campaign promises they KNOW they have no hope in Hades of keeping, a lump of coal and one they have to pay for, not with our taxes.

To all those people who are so wrapped up in themselves that they hurt feelings, make someone else feel unworthy, lie, bully, ignore, and generally are unpleasant to be around, a lump of coal.  For New Year’s, we’ll go back to four flat tires.

To all of you who fit this description,  a Bah, Humbug to you!

15 thoughts on “Bah, Humbug!

  1. I’ve been too lazy to be bad!

    Though I got coal once about 15 years ago — a nice little gift box full of it. Wish I still had it.

  2. I think all the coal necessary for that one, since it would be probably every adult in the known universe (especially those signing the from on packages with “Santa”), might be bad for the environment. 😉

  3. I agree 100% about drivers who try to sneak in at the front of the line and the people who let them. However, I’ve had people start pulling into the side of my car just so I’d back off and let them in. Wrong move on the wrong day (I was already in a bad mood). Needless to say, they did not get in front of me!

    Since Friday is my last day in the office, I’m going to wear a sweatshirt with broken Christmas ornaments on it and the words, ‘Bah Humbug”. See how many people put me down for my lack of spirit. (I’m one of the few people who actually decorated their office, btw.)

      • On the way home from work Friday, I was passed by TWO cars, both going around 90mph! Scared the beejebbers out of me when the first one passed. I hadn’t even seen him coming. I seriously think it was a case of road rage that was getting really out of hand. Not a smart thing to do during rush hour traffic on I244. Sure hope a cop caught up with them somewhere.

  4. Jackie, last week we had a pennance service at church to ask forgiveness for all the things we’ve done during the past year and prepare to welcome the King of Peace…it’s kind of a nice way to end the year and start a new one. At some point during the year, I’ve probably driven like a jerk, or made someone feel bad. Never mean to do it, but I’m sure I have. So let me just say…to anyone out there I might have injured or offended, I’m so sorry. I’ll try harder next year.

  5. Jackie,

    You’ve made me wonder how much coal I should expect on Christmas Day!! I’ll take my lumps. Rather have that than four flat tires… just sayin’. spw

    • I guess I sound like I think everyone should drive perfect, but I don’t. I know there are times when I’m a bad driver, but it’s NOT on purpose. It’s the drivers who persistantly drive bad…and you can tell they do by how well they do it and how impervious they are to me laying on my horn!

  6. Hey, Jackie, we got stuck waiting for a train yesterday, and it was hauling cars and cars full of coal. I figured it was on its way to your house! Wish i’d had my camera!

Leave a Reply

