Bite and Balance

A trapeze act? Kinky sex act? Equestrian feat?–MG and other riders know this.

But what about writers? We need it too. That’s where many writers fail as they can’t get the right balance between fact and fiction. Yep…this is what this is about. Do you need to be a trapeze artist to write about one? Not really, but if you want that authentic bite, it might help to have at least been on one.

There needs to be realism, jargon, terms. And balance.ย For example–the ranch book. If you haven’t truly ridden (more than a trail ride although you’ll learn a LOT), you can’t know some of the insights. There are muscles you didn’t even know existed. There is also the way your body moves–right or wrong. There’s a trust that develops–or a lack of one–between you and your horse. My favorite is becoming one no longer just a horse and rider.ย 

There’s a scene in The Black Stallion movie where the young boy becomes friends with the horse, then rides without tack. The link is to this part of the movie. The first 4 illustrate my point. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NG_di8VNcrY

This is MY writer’s journey. Learning, falling, riding, falling. Succeeding. Flying!

9 thoughts on “Bite and Balance

  1. I see what you’re saying. A writer should have some “feel” for what they’re writing about, but I gotta be honest. The only way you’d get me on a trapeze is if I was no farther off the ground than four inches. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I LOVE that feeling of oneness! When I first read Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern, I didn’t ‘get’ the dragon flight. Oh, I enjoyed the stories, but it wasn’t until I experienced the feel by riding a horse did I truly understand.
    The only time I’ve recaptured that feeling of galloping freedom without riding is on the Electrospin in Silver Dollar City.
    –now I really want to ride again. I’ll probably dream of it again tonight. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I love the ‘flying’ part of your post, Meg.

    I haven’t ridden a horse in years so I don’t consider myself a horsewoman in any way, shape or form. However, I do ride motorcycles and it’s (sorta’) the same thing. You have to know how your legs and rear end feel after being in the saddle for hours in order to convey that to the reader. Because as we all know, there WILL be a reader out there who knows exactly how it feels and if we don’t get it right, they’ll never read us again.

    • Linda–
      You’re absolutely spot on with your last sentence.
      I’m looking forward to experiencing riding a motorcycle and later as we hit the road together.

Leave a Reply

