Just One More . . .

I’m a Mahjong, Spider Solitaire and Freecell addict.

Game-playing is part of my writing routine. Every morning when I get to the office, I settle in and have breakfast while playing one of the above games. It’s as much a part of my writing day as . . . well, as the writing. On occasion, I’ll try to jump straight into work, but it just doesn’t flow as well.

The games are pretty much mindless, so I guess it’s a way to get the creative stuff moving. I don’t play a long time, no more than 30 minutes usually, then when I get tired of writing, I turn on Waymon Tisdale and play a few games more. Usually, ten minutes or so is enough to get me back in gear for at least one more page.

I’m sure I could write without playing any games. I just hope I don’t ever have to prove it.

Do you have a deliberate distraction? Or are you one of those people who never lets anything get in the way of your precious writing time? (I envy you guys, really. Heck, I used to be you guys. But that was back when solitaire required actually shuffling cards.)

And, for all you new Kindlers out there, have you tried Every Word? It’s great fun . . . but it does tend to distract me from the books I’m reading.

10 thoughts on “Just One More . . .

  1. When I finally got on Facebook, the first thing everybody said was “Stay away from the games!!!!”

    There are some games that distract me in a bad way (as in I forget to do anything else for hours), and I suspect some of those would fit. So I’ve obeyed and stayed away.

  2. Have to admit I love to play Solitaire. However, I get carried away and an hour (or more) will slip by. Solved the problem by simply taking it off my PC and have refused to go looking for it online. I miss it . . . but I’ll get over it. πŸ˜‰

    • I had a CD of 200 plus varieties of Solitaire. That was one of the unintentional distractions that ate up hours. When I got a new computer, I couldn’t find the CD, so I no longer have the temptation.

  3. Free Cell helped me stop smoking. I would play a few games of Free Cell with my morning coffee instead.
    Sometimes I allow myself to play Spider Solitaire, but usually it is at night to calm down.

    • Cool on the smoking! I don’t play much after work besides Every Word on Kindle. I used to work crosswords a lot, but I can play just about any kind of word game and be happy.

  4. Nothing distracts me. Not bragging. The truth is I write until I can’t write anymore. If I ever let my self get distracted, I can’t get back to it. I do have a ritual though. I have to have music without lyrics playing. Nothing in particular, just music. And a scented candle burning.

    • I’d heard that you could write anywhere anytime. I can’t listen to music when I write, with or without lyrics. If there are no words to sing, then I hum along.

      A scented candle, huh? Whatever sparks your creative flow, right?

Leave a Reply

