Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Last Thursday I braved the snow and ice to attend a booksigning by Susan Elizabeth Phillips in Tulsa. (See her website for details on her book tour. www.susanelizabethphillips.com) The event had been scheduled at one of the libraries. However, they were going to close early due to the snow that hit late Wednesday and early Thursday. Arrangements were quickly made to move the signing to the Barnes & Noble bookstore on 71st street.  (Thanks B&N!)

Mind you I live about 30 miles away and driving on black ice is not my idea of fun. But if I left early so it was still semi-light going in, I figured I’d have a feel for what the roads would be like coming home. Huh. Turns out they weren’t that bad after all. Go figure.

There was a fairly decent turn-out, around 30 maybe. Ms Phillips was very entertaining, read lines from her books with a prize of chocolate to whomever could guess which book, read a scene from her latest book and told some about herself and her writing habits. We even got to find out about her Idea Warehouse that’s located in Tulsa. (Shhh. Sorry. It’s a secret so I can’t reveal its actual location.) She then took questions from the audience before the signing and picture taking.

I did learn that she’s a pantzer and not a big plotter. Made me feel good to know someone so successful has glitches along the way – with each and every story she writes. There’s hope for me yet. Hehe   One of her favorite places to write is in the spare bedroom in a really old recliner . . . or anyplace where she can curl up and block out the world. Just goes to show that you don’t have to have a private office to crank out a good story.  In fact, she only uses her office for the business end of writing. Go figure.

She’s a very gracious lady and I’m VERY glad I made the effort to attend. I know if the weather hadn’t been so bad, she would have had three or four times the number of attendees. But there is no controlling Mother Nature. I did get in a plug for RWI and handed out a few flyers that WS Jackie had made up. Don’t you just love meeting other romance writers? There’s nothing like it.

Sorry y’all missed getting to meet SEP!

9 thoughts on “Susan Elizabeth Phillips

  1. Linda,

    I’m so glad you made it out to the signing. In the two years I worked in a bookstore, I met a LOT of authors at booksignings. She was one of the nicest, friendliest and most generous ladies it was ever my pleasure to meet. I can’t say enough about her. spw

    • She was very gracious, Sandee. I promised her if I ran into her at National, I’d remind her where she met me, though. There’s no way a person could remember everyone she meets in a multi-city book tour.

    • When she said she constantly rewrote her story as she went along because she didn’t plot out beforehand, I wanted to pump my fist in the air and go “Yes! A big-name author who also doesn’t do a lot of pre-planning. There’s hope for me yet.” 🙂

      I’m really glad I made the effort, too. It was definitely worth it.

  2. Oh, I wish we could get her to join RWI. But I wouldn’t hold my breath. Her slate is probably full to overflowing.

    To be honest, I’d seriously thought about not going, then decided to heck with it. I’ve driven in worse conditions so figured why not. Besides, Jackie had gone to a LOT of trouble making the flyers and I wanted to be able to hand a few of them out. 😉

  3. Wish I could have been there! We were stuck at home all day Friday, too, but the hill melted Saturday, thank heavens. I was going stir-crazy. I know the roads down below were decent, but frankly, going down our big hill on ice scares the bejeezus out of me — too steep, too slick, too-deep ditches on the sides.

    Maybe next time!

  4. It brings a tear to my eye how brave you were to drive those roads just so you could hand out the flyers. 🙂 Well, it’s better than what I ended up with. I had to drive those roads almost the same distance, but only got to work. 😦 I wanted to see SEP!

Leave a Reply

