Modern Romance

RWI VP Kathlyn sent this to us a few weeks ago, and since it made me laugh out loud, I decided to report it here. Hey, it’s Friday. It’s January. Everyone can use a laugh.

Thanks, Kathlyn!

I wish I knew who to give credit. If anyone knows, pass it along, please!

**********

He grasped me firmly but gently just above my elbow and guided me into a room, his room. Then he quietly shut the door and we were alone. He approached me soundlessly from behind and spoke in a low reassuring voice close to my ear. “Just relax.”

Without warning he reached down, and I felt his strong, calloused hands start at my ankles, gently probing and moving upward along my calves slowly but steadily. My breath caught in my throat. I knew I should be afraid, but somehow I didn’t care. His touch was so experienced, so sure.

When his hands moved up onto my thighs, I gave a slight shudder and partly closed my eyes. My pulse was pounding. I felt his knowing fngers caress my abdomen, my ribcage.

And then, as he cupped my firm, full breasts in his hands, I inhaled sharply. Probing, searching, knowing what he wanted, he brought his hands to my shoulders, slid them down my tingling spine and into my panties.

Although I knew nothing about this man, I felt oddly trusting and expectant. This is a man, I thought. A man used to taking charge. A man not used to taking “no” for an answer. A man who would tell me what he wanted. A man who would look into my soul and say . . .

 “Okay, ma’am,” said a voice. “All done.”

My eyes snapped open and he was standing in front of me, smiling, holding out my purse.

“You can board your plane now.”

11 thoughts on “Modern Romance

    • Now they didn’t offer me a chance to be patted down by a man . . . What’s up with that??? Didn’t they realize as a romance author I would appreciate the experience??? 😉

  1. If it weren’t so true, it be funny as all get out. At least someone has a sense of humor about this. Wonder if the TSA people would post this in their screening area? Hmm. I didn’t think so, either. LOL

    • On our last trip, I got pulled aside two out of three times through security, and none of the security people seemed to have a sense of humor about it. Of course, having a job where you have to search people all day can’t be that much fun, and then to have some of those people whining and threatening the whole time . . . I wouldn’t laugh much, either.

      But all the TSA people we dealt with were VERY nice. (And Customs, Immigration and airport personnel.)

  2. Hey!

    I got to do the whole body scanner in the Paris airport!! I felt like a rock star. I’ve been patted down before. I think they should either make romance cover models do the pat down, or do the scanner. spw

    • LOL! I got the whole-body thing AND a patdown that was really more of a rubdown since they’re checking for residue on their gloves. Three out of our four in Houston got pulled aside for the patdowns, while Meg quietly gathered stuff together.

Leave a Reply

