Snowbound!

Tulsa, OK just finished with the worse blizzard they’ve ever had.  Okay, that’s what the weatherman claim because we had 17.5 inches of snow in 24 hours.  Personally, I think the ice storm we had a few years ago was waaaay worse. Then, thousands of us lost power for a week to 10 days and sustained damage to our property.  Today, the snow kept me housebound, but I had warmth, chocolate, and a book.  How is that so bad?

Okay, okay…I know.  I should have used the down time to get in some extra writing.  In my own defence, I have been working on entries for two writing contests, so was ready for a break.  But the chief reason is because being snowbound in a special gift of time.

Ever since I was a kid, snow days off from school were special.  Most of the time, my folks still had to go to work and my brother and I were old enough to stay home alone.  What a treat!  First was all that wonderful snow to play in.  And when we were too cold, we’d come in and watch all the forbidden TV we wanted.  Or maybe I’d read all day.  To me, being snowed in was an unexpected mini-vacation and I feel the same way about it as an adult.

So I spent the first day of the Great Blizzard of 2011 reading.  I’m supposed to go to work today (since I’m writing this on Tuesday), but if the roads aren’t any better, I’ll probably spend the second day the same way. 

Darn!  *Snicker-snicker*

9 thoughts on “Snowbound!

  1. Yesterday was my snow day, too. I sat in front of the fireplace and read and watched TV. It was a great day for relaxing. But today I got some work done — and will probably read more tonight. While I pray for this stuff to go away!

    • Me, too. Not as much as I could have, but I’ve got a bunch of stuff due by Sunday, so I’m going to have to get on the ball.

  2. What a great way to look at it, Jackie. Snow days = treats. Okay, I can get on board with that. I watched the snow blanket us yesterday but didn’t worry about it one bit. Hadn’t planned to go anywhere anyway. I read and watched TV most of the day. Tomorrow I’ll get back to work on the writing.

    Thanks for sharing some of your childhood. I love learning new things about my friends!

    • Spent the last two days with sinus infection, but feeling better so hope to get some writing done since I’m off for the next four days.

    • The closest I’ve been outside is stepping out of my front door to take pics for Facebook. I dread having to drive that first time.

  3. Jackie,

    I think it’s important to give yourself a break. Some time off is not a bad thing, especially if you are dealing with contest entries.

    Snow day, sigh. spw

Leave a Reply

