More from the Tech World

Along with my Kindle, I recently purchased an iPad. Tell you right off the bat, the keyboard isn’t made for word processing. Actually, it’s more like a giant iPhone…except it’s hard to take phone calls with it. But you can do small pieces like blogging, which I’m doing right now. It’ll be interesting to see how it turns out.

There are some things I really like about using the iPad. First, it’s light, so now I can sit curled up in my chair and do my email. Before, I used my laptop, but the weight of it put my legs to sleep and I kept hitting the touchpad by mistake. Also, the screen is easier to see though I haven’t tried any major editing on it.

I’m a big fan of hidden object games and iPad shows them off perfectly. Many off my iPhone apps loaded to the iPad when I first synced it with iTunes. But there is a world of difference between the regular apps & the High Def apps that work best on the pad. And this difference really shoes up with books.

Of course, the first apps I wanted on my iPad were my eReaders, like Kindle, Nook, etc. What’s that? I already have these same apps on my laptop, netbook, iPhone, as well as a dedicated Kindle? And your point is??? Anyway, I’d heard about interactive books and was eager to experience them.

The first one I bought was a history of dragons. It did have a very cool opening, but it basically was an audio book with some artist paintings of dragons. Oh, don’t get me wrong; the pictures were beautiful! But my idea of “interactive” was touching the dragon and it flies off or roars or something. It’s a nice book, but not what I expected.

Tonight, I downloaded a free “interactive” children’s story book. It had several stories & there were areas where the child could touch the screen, activating action & speech by the characters. Very simple and because the app was evidently designed by people whose English was a second language, there were several spelling and grammer errors.

I bet you think I way impressed by this concept, but think about it. When my children heard stories read to them, they cuddled up to the reader, safe & warm, with a loved one who shared their love of reading. I may be a geek, but truth be told…I think interactive books should be restricted to those 21 & older. There isn’t any cool device or app that can match the wonder in a child’s face when they hear you read them a story.

So, unlike many other geeks, I vote that children never hear their stories from a computer, no matter how cool!

3 thoughts on “More from the Tech World

  1. Jackie,
    I agree 100%! A child should have a book read to them. Pure and simple. The intereaction they need is with the adult in their life, not a machine.

    Great post!

  2. Count me in, too. Though when I first started reading to our grandson, I might have been happy for a computer. He would bring me a book to read, let me get through the first three pages, then turn the rest of the pages so fast that he almost tore them, announce, “The End,” and yank it away just to bring me another book. 😉

    He loves being read to now, especially looking at the pictures and counting things, asking questions, etc. I’d like to think a computer could never replace me for him; but I KNOW the experience is just perfect for me as it is.

Leave a Reply

