Mighty Powerful Stuff

Have you ever had a headache (or an ache of any kind) so bad that you just wanted to crawl into a cool cave and lose yourself? Hurt so bad that no matter how much medication you take, it just didn’t do the trick? You feel bad and look worse.

Then a friend calls. You don’t want to talk, but it’s been a while so to keep from being rude, you chat. And chat, and chat. The next thing you know you’ve talked for an hour and, guess what, you no longer hurt. YAH! They’ve relaxed you to the point that your pain is gone. You can smile and function again.

This is the Power of Friendship.

When you have a true friend they can take your mind off your troubles. You laugh. Sometimes you cry. You share in each other’s joys and sorrows. It doesn’t matter if they live close by, whether you just saw them last week or last year. The connection is still there. And it’s worth its weight in gold.

I sincerely hope you have at least one really good friend in your life that you can lean on. Someone who leans on you. Someone who, if they were gone, would leave a hole in your life . . . in your heart.

Here’s to Friendship.

Salute!

8 thoughts on “Mighty Powerful Stuff

    • Meg, you can call me anytime! A nice chat with a friend, your favorite ice cream or some chocolate. Works every time. 😉

  1. I LOVE my friends. I don’t stay in touch as much as I should, and I’m working on changing that, but they mean the world to me.

    • I have to be honest and admit I sometimes have a hard time keeping up with my friends. Although, a former co-worker has given me lessons in just that. She makes a concerted effort to keep in touch, have lunch once in a while and email on a fairly regular basis. It’s been years since we worked together but we’re closer now than we were then.

      It’s work, but the rewards more than make the effort worthwhile.

  2. Linda,

    I wish I knew this secret trick to beating life’s ills. I’ve heard that laughter was good for you and could cure a headache–and I laugh and laugh with my best friends. I’m going to have to give this a try next time I’m feeling puny. spw

    • Sandee,
      If you ever find the ‘secret cure’ let me know. Laughter is good. Let me know if simply calling a dear friend and chatting for a while works for you next time you’re feeling bad. Might work for some and not others. Might depend on the pain. But if it’ll help, it’s worth a shot. If it doesn’t really work, at least you would’ve had a nice visit. Right? 😉

  3. I love my friends!! If it wasn’t for my friends, I’d be lost. And, REALLY nuts…like, put-my-butt-away kinda nuts. 😀

    Friends are like flowers…they take care and nuturing just like any relationship. But when they bloom, they always make you smile!

    • The best thing about comparing friends to flowers? Like flowers, they come in all size, shapes and colors. I love having a mixed bouquet. Don’t you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

