Update on my dehoarding

Remember when I told you back in January that I was going to dehoard my house?  Thought I’d give you an update.  To start with, it’s going slower than I expected.  Don’t know if that’s because I have more junk than I thought I did or that I’m old enough, it’s taking waaaay longer than I planned or if the past busy winter was so busy, I was too tired to give it my best.  I HAVE hauled out about three car trunkfuls, but maybe the stuff is breeding because you can’t really see much.

My lovely DIL came by today to pick up some of the books I’ve replace with Kindle editions, my J.D. Robb series for her aunt who loves Nora.  She gave me a pep talk and volunteered to help.  Every two weeks, she’s going to come over, help me clear out an area at a time, and deep clean it.  But, as she told me, she expects me to keep it dehoarded!  That should be a “Duh!”, but she knows me too well.  I AM a pack rat, so the chances are good, if she doesn’t keep a rein on me, I’ll start collecting again.

One thing about dehoarding is that I find myself clearing out more than my house.  I’m also clearing out my writing.  I slowly going through the professional journals I’ve been stacking up for years, sorting out the articles that will help me the most with my weak areas.  Luckily, I’m not a newbie writer again, so I don’t have to  keep EVERYTHING.  I’m also dumping books.  Not just those I’ve replaced with Kindle editions, but those I now accept I will never read…or re-read.

But most important, I’m starting to dehoard some needless barriers.  I’m telling myself that if I get rid of some of the excuses I’ve been using, I’ll find the time I’m always saying I don’t have.  If I throw away some doubts, misconceptions, and self-lies, just think how much room I’ll have to give to my writing.  And if I give up time-wasters such as watching re-run true crime shows and Planet Earth for the sixth time, I’ll have more time.  But most of all, I have to give up the idea that I won’t get everything written I want to, so why bother? No, what I should be doing is shooting for living until I’ve written everything I want.  Who says I can’t live to age 138 years??!

10 thoughts on “Update on my dehoarding

  1. I’m going to use a cliche’ here…YOU GO, GIRL!

    It’s hard to let go of the ‘things’ in our lives. At least for someone who’s a hoarder. I applaude you for taking this step, and bless your DIL for giving you support and help. I love the way your attitude is affecting your writing as well as the stuff in your home. I’m hoping that means we’ll see even more of your wonderful stories! 🙂

  2. Good for you, Jackie!

    I read an old blog (9-2010) by Anne McCaffrey when I researched my blog, RIDING DRAGONS, and at 85, she has finally come to the realization that she can’t write as much as she used to. The stories are still coming, but her body isn’t behaving, which is why she co-writes with so many authors.

    Do what you can, Jackie, and who knows maybe you’ll sell big after you die like Stieg Larrson. 🙂

    • Uh, couldn’t I hit it big now while I’m still alive? Don’t have to have a lot of money or fame; just enough so I don’t have to work at nursing again unless I want to.

  3. Jackie,

    I’m so glad you are getting through some of it. And having someone to help you and come and cheer you on, that’s priceless. You’ve gotta love family.

    When you get your space all de-cluttered, I wonder if the Zen-like surroundings will make you more productive. At least you won’t be distracted with stuff that needs doing in the office! spw

    • And my DIL is ruthless when it comes to completing tasks. Thank God because I’m such a wimp when it comes to this kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

