Conferences

Love or hate them? OWFI is this next weekend, and I won’t be going due to assisting with Open Water check-out dives for my students. I’ll always have a special place in my heart for this conference. What an eye opener, a heart breaker, an opportunity to grow. It was this same hotel where I met the man who changed my life. That’s another blog topic.

RWA National is just around the corner and I won’t be attending that one either. The crowds, BS, and workshops do not justify the expense of attending no matter how many free books or potential for learning. I was overwhelmed by information overload.

At our conferences, I ended up doing more work, becoming exhausted and wishing the entire thing was over. I had more fun during the drives to the airport. Each year, I promise myself that I will go to a few regional ones, but don’t. Other things get in the way, even for our awesome our RWI retreats!

So. . .do you love conferences or can do without them?

8 thoughts on “Conferences

  1. Meg,

    I think there’s a difference in the types of people/writers who enjoy the conferences and those who don’t. I was told once that what type of person you were is dependent on how you recharge: extroverts get energy from crowds of people and being ‘on’; introverts get energy from being alone. Possibly, the extroverts are all going to say the LOVE conferences, the free books, all the classes and networking. The introverts are going to find it all stressful and not worth the trouble. At least, that’s my take on it. spw

  2. I enjoy connecting and meeting up with old friends, BUT if you put me in a group of non-socializing writers then I withdraw into myself.

    I will always remember running into someone–who was very vocal on the PRO loop (still is)–at my first RWA conference. I was so excited to meet her because she seemed to really have her act together. She gave me a ‘go to hell and die’ look.

    Uhm, I will NEVER EVER be her friend. Yeah, I suppose I should be mature and get over it . . . but I don’t wanna.

    • Margaret–
      I can never see you withdrawing, but then maybe we’ve just been together with friends.

      I had that EXACT same experience at my first OWFI! Crushed me. Taught me a lesson–I seek out those who need a friendly hello.

      Naw…don’t be mature. She’s not worth it.

  3. Actually, it depends on how I’m feeling at the time. And what classes are being offered. Of course, at National you can find just anything you want. But you do get overload.

    I remember my first OWFI conference (my first EVER conference). I came home so pumped that I talked for almost 2 hours straight. DH politely sat and listened (bless his heart) while I bounced off the walls. Then I laid down on the couch and passed out for the next couple of hours. Guess you could say I ‘deflated’. hehe

  4. I have admit I’m a bigger fan of small conferences. OWFI is about right, though I don’t always get to go. RWA national? A nightmare in my view.

Leave a Reply

