Message from a Bottle

Well, not really. My hubby gave me sticky notes a while back with inspirational messages printed across the top. I love ‘em!

Success occurs when no one is looking. Failure occurs when the boss is watching.

Boy, isn’t that the truth? I do great work when I’m on my own, but the minute I happen to mess up, the boss would walk in…or ask to see where I was on a project. Ugh. The same goes for my writing. I write great prose, but when submitted for critique find out just how ‘un-great’ it really is.

Don’t let your successes go to your head or your failures go to your heart.

Just when you get ‘full’ of yourself, you’ll get knocked back on your rear again. Keep your feet on the ground. Or at least have good friends who will pull you out of the clouds when needed.

And my favorite.

Opportunities are never lost; someone else will take the ones you miss.

In other words, snooze, you lose. When an opportunity is right in front of you, suck it up and go for it. Odds are there is someone else just waiting in the wings who’ll gladly jump at the chance if you pass it by.

It’s funny how these sayings can apply to so many different things in our lives, not just our writing. And how they seem to pop up just when we need them.  😉

13 thoughts on “Message from a Bottle

  1. Linda,

    I love the inspirational sticky notes. I have a fortune cookie fortune taped to my monitor! When you hear something that inspires or motivates you, it’s good to keep it to hand! spw

    • Sandee,
      Good idea…taping the message that really touched you to your monitor. You see it every day. The more you say or read it, the more your inner brain believes it will come true. Thus MAKING it come true.

  2. I have one of my favorite quotes on the bulletin board: You can’t win if you don’t play the game.

    I also love the Abraham Lincoln quote: Whatever you are, be a good one.

    And two Winston Churchill quotes: Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.

    The second: Never, never, never, never give up.

    • Oh, those are all great quotes! Especially the never giving up one. Cause if you give up, you aren’t playing the game so you’ll never win so you might as well suck it up, find the courage somewhere deep within you and keep going and be the best you can be.
      (Did I get them all covered? LOL)

  3. Love, love, love inspirational quotes. You’ve been to my house, Linda. I have them everywhere! hehe

    I feel like if I surround myself with encouragement, I will keep up the good spirits. That and I hope my teenage kids will read them and take them to heart. 🙂

  4. I really believe that the inspirational quotes in your home will rub off on your kids. How can they not? The kids might ‘forget’ them for a while during those teen years, but the basic messages will stay with them. I have faith. Not to mention how they help you. You even have a calendar on your desk with inspirational quotes. Right? Love it. A new ‘happy’ thought each and every day. How cool!

Leave a Reply

