Senior Wrangling

Yes, I know I’m way late, but I have a good reason. Or maybe an okay excuse. For the past few days, I’ve been senior wrangling. For those of you who haven’t done it (though you will, I promise you!), senior wrangling is helping your parents get through the last part of life…all without losing your mind.

Now understand, I’m twice blessed. Once because I still have my dad alive. And my second blessing is that my younger, but fully retired brother who is Daddy’s slave. He has the power of attorney to manage Dad’s bills. He’s daddy’s main driver. But every now & then, David and his wife go out of town. Then daddy’s welfare falls on me.

You know what it’s like? It’s like living with a toddler again. I had to take him to the doctor’s office; getting him into the car involved several steps. First, a potty break. Then getting him from the powerchair to his wheel chair. Then I had to replace the bootie over his foot. Then came the joy of getting him from the wheelchair into my car…and I had to replace the bootie on his foot. And away we go while he kept telling me how David drives this way, not my way…about 20 times.

Once we are at the hospital, dad can’t remember where we are supposed to go. After 45 minutes & a multitude of phone calls (Thank you, St. Johns’ volunteers!), we contact the correct office only to discover he doesn’t have an appointment. Luckily, they slide him in and they do a procedure that takes only 5 minutes. Oh, and I replaced his bootie.

Then we head back to his place, an almost exact reversal…including replacing the bootie! Arrrrgh!
And that was only one half a day. Do you want to hear about the rest??? No, I didn’t think so! But you know what? That mischevious old man is soooo worth the hassle. He’s always been the very best daddy and I’m his Princess forever! Love you, daddy!

5 thoughts on “Senior Wrangling

  1. Oh, man. What a day. You’re right, I havn’t gone through Senior Wrangling. But my sister has. She lives right next door to the folks and I’m 60 miles away. In fact, I’m the only one that doesn’t live on the same 20 acres with them. (See? I AM the rebel! 🙂 ) But dad needs a walker now, and his wife has a hard time maintaining her balance. Of course she won’t use a walker so someone has to be close at hand.

    Yep, dealing with our elderly parents is SO worth it!

  2. It’s like herding cats, isn’t it?

    I wish Mom was here to herd. It could be so frustrating, but I miss her so much.

  3. I know you do, Marilyn, but I promise you, though the ache never quite goes away, it does get easier to bear. I already dread the time when I won’t be senior wrangling ever.

Leave a Reply

