Seriously?

Linda here.

As I stated last week, I attended the Writers Academy at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, TX, taking Jodi Thomas’ class. Honestly, I wish you’d all been there with me. To spend an entire week with other writers, immersed in writing, is unbelievable. Yes, many of us have attended National (some will be there this week), but this wasn’t the same. You don’t sit and listen to speakers, you participate. We had to think and work at our writing.

Which made all the difference.

While there I realized how blessed I am to be part of RWI, to be able to meet monthly and to be part of a critique group. Several in the class had no one. One woman said how much being a part of the class, how being around other writers who “understood” her, meant to her. Guess she found out ALL writers talk to themselves. And wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

I’ll post more detailed info on my personal blog (www.lindatrout.com) in a day or two for some of the fun things we did during the week. I came home exhausted and so pumped! And ready to jump back into my writing full force.

The last day, a few minutes before the class ended, Jodi told us we took our writing seriously. As we should. However, we shouldn’t take ourselves seriously. To make her point, she passed out red noses for everyone. This is Jodi and I smiling for the camera.

Ain’t we cute?

I can almost guarantee I’ll be going back next year. Wanna’ come?

Linda Trout

 

6 thoughts on “Seriously?

  1. Love, love, LOVE the red clown noses. That is good advice. Take your writing seriously, but don’t take yourself seriously. spw

    • It was a great idea. I also took one of the class but didn’t think they’d appreciate me posting a picture without everyone’s permission. Jodi didn’t care. She said to ‘go for it’.

      It was a fantastic week. We worked hard and played even harder. More of than on my blog a little later. {tease}

    • It was worth the money and the 6 hour drive to get there. Since I stayed in a dorm room, had to take all my bedding, etc plus my clothes. I felt as if I’d packed everything but the kitchen sink. LOL

    • It was an absolute blast. They (obviously) don’t know what the subjects will be next year, but I’m sure it’ll be great. It was well worth my money. As I said before, better than National.

Leave a Reply

