#1 Fan

 I’ve never heard this but while on vacation in the Philippines , DH showed how much he supports my writing. Handing out my Shadow Games card, he was promoting my book. Kinda made me thrilled and embarrassed.

Why? Isn’t that the goal of authors to promote? Yes, but. . . I was raised to never ‘toot your own horn.’  ‘Pride goes before a fall.’

Yet I was proud of the story I’d created. Proud that I write romance. Proud of being able to write stories.

Guess we all need to be our own #1 fans.

 

10 thoughts on “#1 Fan

  1. Good for you.
    It’s hard pushing through the wall of inhibitions. The wall that protected me from ridicule in the past needs to come down. If I have to choose between being sneered at and sharing what I’m proud to have created, then there’s no contest, is there?
    Of course, there’s a difference between handing out a card and boring people with your self-promotion. But the state of publishing is in flux, and responsibilities have changed. With publicity now falling in the laps of writers to a greater degree, tasteful self-promotion has become legitimate.

  2. Hey, Amber!!!
    Thanks for stopping by!
    I’ve found that by having a few great tag lines, I can tell them about the book.
    Tasteful is the key word here!

  3. Meg,

    I think that Don is your #1 Fan, you don’t need to take that place! I’m glad he was ‘chatting you up’ to others while you were on vacation. I can truthfully say that some of the best books I’ve ever read were suggested to me by strangers I chatted with. I love to discover a new author by word of mouth. Good for him! And great for you… spw

  4. Good husband! I’m with you — I hate self promo. I know it needs to be done, but would much rather have someone else do it!

Leave a Reply

