Steamroller Blues

Yesterday afternoon my husband lay down for a nap. When the puppers woke him with their frenzied barking, he looked out the front window and saw a honking big steamroller parked in our front yard. We don’t know who brought it, don’t know who it belongs to, don’t know what it’s doing there. It’s just there.

(And they didn’t even have the courtesy to leave the keys and operating instructions so I could use it to tamp down some gopher/mole hills. Considering they just left it there between my plum tree and my apple tree, you’d think that was the least they could do.) 

We didn’t call the neighbors or the county or the sheriff. In fact, other than noting that it’s there, we didn’t do anything. That’s life out here. Sometimes people mow your yard while you’re gone. Sometimes they put boulders in (or take them out). Sometimes they leave steamrollers.

Sometimes that’s how my writing goes. A character shows up, something totally unexpected happens (by me, at least), or someone will spout a line or thought that seems totally out of place. I learned a long time ago to just go with it and see what happens, and it almost always turns out to be important to the end of the story.

I’m sure that steamroller’s in my yard for a reason. I just have to wait to find out what it is.

 

9 thoughts on “Steamroller Blues

  1. Yup. A steamroller. A honkin’ big *H-U-G-E* steamroller . . .

    I’m thinkin’ of gettin’ this thing started up so I can drive it all around our huge front yard and flatten any mole tunnels or gopher holes. We’re talkin’ big-time *S-Q-U-I-S-H* to the little rodents. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh, the joys of country living.

    Marilyn, however, is sayin’ if there’s any steamrolling to be done, that S-H-E is gonna’ do it. She loves her power tools!

    • You bet. I”m the one who’s fallen in the tunnels and shoveled away the hundreds of mounds over the year. I get to be the one to seal them underground with no hope of escape.

    • I really do wanna. When I climbed up in it, it has all kinds of switches, some marked, some not. Wonder what are th odds that I could hit the right variety to get it moving?

  2. Haven’t had any steamrollers, but HAVE had a back hole, this humongous thing that had an “arm” that could extend 70 feet in the air to cut tree limbs and a machine that could shred those limbs into nothing but pulp. The back hole was from the people putting in a new waterline and the other 2 from the utility company trimming trees in their easement.

    Believe it or not, I had absolutely NO desire to climb on any of those things. Hey, the one had a wicked looking saw blade on it. Hmm Wait a minute. I needed a few other trees trimmed, too. 😉

    • I want to use a backhoe, too! And I’d love a chipper/shredder. I’d be cutting down trees to just put them in it.

      Our neighbor called yesterday and said the steamroller belongs to the county. They’ll be working on our road Monday, so they thought they’d deliver it early. Unfortunately, they couldn’t follow directions (it was supposed to go in our field halfway down the hill) so there it is.

      It still kind of boggles my mind that they just unloaded it into my yard and left without a word!

  3. Gosh, one of my fantasies is to learn to drive all the heavy equipment on most construction sites. If someone left a steam roller in my front yard, I’d at least climb into the cab for a photo op!! spw

Leave a Reply

