AN OLD FAVORITE

I’ll be honest here. If anyone had told me in my early 20’s that I loved romance stories, I would have called them crazy. I was a SF nerd and proud of it! I had started reading Robert Heinlein when I was 8 years old and read through every SF book in my school library. When I ran out, I read biographies and historical fiction and loved them, but given the choice, would take SF.

Some of my favorite? YEAR OF THE UNICORN by Andre Norton. RESTOREE by Anne McCaffery and that led me to the entire DRAGONS OF PERN series. What do these all have in common besides being SF? They have a HEA. Oh, not as strong as a romance novel, but the strong female protaganist ended up in a relationship with the male, even when he started as the possible villain.

And those biographies and historical fiction that I also read? Yep, romances. The biographs I enjoyed most where the ones showcasing females who had a strong love supporting them through whatever made them famous enough to have a book all to themselves. The first historical novel I remember reading was MARA; DAUGHTER OF THE NILE. And Mara ended up with the hero at the end.

Tonight, while relaxing after coming home from work, I flipped through the TV stations and ran into an old favorite movie I loved the first time I say it. THE WAR LORD with Charleton Heston and Rosemary Forsyth. The script sucked pond water, but the growth of the relationship grabbed me. When I saw the movie tonight, I HAD to watch it, even though it kept me up until 2:00AM!

I’ve come to the conclusion that I only have one old favorite in my life. Romance…no matter what genre, no matter what medium, no matter how pitiful the surrounding story. So now I proudly proclaim…I love Romance! And I don’t care who knows it! So there!

7 thoughts on “AN OLD FAVORITE

  1. I’m so glad you love Romance, Sandee. Otherwise, I might never have met you. Which would have been oh, so sad!

    I’ve always loved a happily-ever-after and am a romantic at heart. Without romance, where would the world be? Where would WE be?

  2. LOL. I read scifi first, too! And when I finally realized one of the things I liked was the HEA, and that romance novels gave that every time, I was a convert.

    Lately I’m reading SF and fantasy. Some of it’s got romances and some doesn’t. But I like those with better!

Leave a Reply

