Finalist!!

We’ve all blogged a bit about the Where The Magic Begins contest. We’ve complained about the grind of the committee. Getting judges. Reading entries. Making useful comments to help out the entrants.

It’s always hard.  The whole chapter works on the contest.  I’ve been in this chapter for ten years and worked on the contest each year.  Some years are smoother than others.  Everyone works like a teamster on it.  This year was no different.  Some judges didn’t do the job.  We had to find others to pick up the slack.  It’s annoying, but it has to be done.

When my category closed and all the scores were final, I breathed a sigh of relief and set it aside.  Just so glad it was all over for another year.

Then I got the email.  I entered the contest, I usually do.  It’s a fundraiser for the chapter, so entering is a way to throw $25 at the non-profit, right?  And, the benefit to entering is getting some critique back on your current work in progress.  So I entered.

I finaled.  Seriously.  I cannot believe it.  I am so excited.  My 25 pages of manuscript is being read by an editor at Harlequin.  And I didn’t even have to scale the Olympian heights of the slush pile!!

I could not be more excited.  So, now to get to my point.  I want to thank everyone associated with this contest.  It’s hard work.  It’s a task that is bobbled like a hot potato from person to person.  But it’s not a THANKLESS task.  Thank you all so much.  This means the world to me.

–Sandee Wagner

8 thoughts on “Finalist!!

  1. Congratulations, Sandee!! You’ve seriously supported so many authors over the years that I can’t wait until I get the chance to buy your books!

    And thanks right back at you for helping with the contest. Some people who join the committee for one year run screaming away from us the next, so we’re thrilled to have you as a repeat (and probably now permanent) member.

  2. Rope in the strays. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but I guess so. 🙂

    Sandee, I’m SO happy you finaled!! It’ll be interesting to see how it all comes out, won’t it? But you’re right. You’ve gotten your work in front of an editor without having to go through the slush pile. A major accomplishment!

    And I want to sincerely thank you for serving as a category chair. You did a terrific job and I couldn’t have done my end without your support and help. Thank you, Thank You, THANK YOU!!!!!

    Linda Trout
    Contest Coordinator

    • Linda,

      You’re a saint. Really. This year was especially challenging. Do you feel baptized yet?? Thank you for making it very smooth for me.

      It’s all good. spw

  3. Add my congrats to you, Sandee! What a sweet reward for all your hard work. Hmmm, do you suppose we can use that as an enticement for future contests? Become a cat. chair and you might final?? Naaaah! They’d never buy that!

Leave a Reply

