Another Lesson

From the diving world, I’ve learned much. One of the best lessons has been the ability to “save” myself by taking Rescue Diver. This course was demanding physically and psychologically, and I took the skills test twice.  The wonderful woman who taught this knew I could do it, and she made sure “I” knew it. Proved it to myself this summer in the Atlantic Ocean.

So what does this have to do with writing. A lot. Having been “floundering” for the last two and half years, I can still save myself by writing a bit every day. I’m not setting out to write the next Great American Novel. I want to create something that will entertain–if only for a moment or two.

I have used a quote that I like to paraphrase:  If you can still breathe, slowly exhale, relax and your brain will kick in. There’s not too much you can’t figure out, in any part of life.

10 thoughts on “Another Lesson

  1. Loved your post, Meg. Inspiring and very true. Also, I’ve found that (for me at least) everything in my life relates to writing. That’s because we’re God’s recorders. He made us the way we are for a purpose.
    Hugs,
    Jackie

  2. That is excellent advice. Breathe and relax. Let your brain kick in.

    My BIL was an engineer in the Navy for 9 years. When he got out of the service, he went on to work as an engineer at a paper mill up in Oregon. One day the mill shut down and people were running around with their hair on fire. Someone asked him why he was so calm when all the equipment was broken down. He just looked around and said, “No matter what happens, it won’t sink.”

    We all need a little reality check some times. spw

  3. I really love when my brain clicks on and the writing begans. As for lessons, they’re all around us every day. We just have to keep our eyes, ears, and hearts open to get them.

Leave a Reply

