Happy Halloween!!

Yep. It’s October 31st and time for all your little spooks and goblins to go out trick-or-treating.

But whether you have little ones or not, do you do something special for Halloween? Decorate the outside of your house for a neighborhood contest? Participate in a school carnival or trunk-or-treating? Take your children to the mall for some fun but super safe festivities? Or simply stay home, waiting for the kids to come to your door?

When we lived in Austin, our house had a long, narrow entryway. The first year there we turned out all the lights in the living room, had a small lit candelabra on a TV tray with the candy bowl next to the door and had spooky sounds playing in the background. I wore a floor-length black dress and I guess I resembled a witch with my straight, almost waist length blond hair. (No pointy hat, though.)

Most of the kids got a real kick out of it with several coming back more than once. But one poor little girl went running back to her mama, crying. I didn’t even say, “Boo!” To make it up to her, I sent candy to her mom via another child. I really felt bad for scaring her when I didn’t mean to. Now we live too far out of town for anyone to come to our house and I really miss it. No more dressing up. {pout} But that year was sure fun!

So do you have anything planned for tonight? Cough it up. I want to know what’s going on at your house. Need a good witch to answer your door for you? 😉

Linda Trout (the ole’ witchy, witch)

13 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!!

  1. Linda,

    I missed out on trick or treaters the whole time I lived in Tulsa. We were ‘off the beaten path’ for the little mites. Now, we live in a big family neighborhood. I’m hoping for lots of tricker or treaters tonight. I made a pot of creamy taco soup and laid in plenty of candy for the kids! I can’t wait!! spw

    • I wasn’t sure if they’d celebrate Halloween there or not so let us know how it goes. Are you dressing up? If so, what will your costume be? Hey, inquiring minds want to know. 😉

      • No costume and no trick or treaters. I have some horns that match my hair, I wore those around all day, because they crack me up, but other than that, no significant Halloween festivities. spw

  2. For years we did the trick-or-treating thing with the kiddo, but once he outgrew it, so did we. It’s Bob’s birthday, so we’d usually shut off all the lights at the front of the house and try to have a quiet dinner at the back.

    Now we’re out in the country, and the only ones who coming looking for treats are the four-legged critters who live next door; they’ve learned Bob’s an easy touch for a cookie or two, and it doesn’t matter whether it’s a special day. 🙂

    • I didn’t realize today is Bob’s birthday. If I knew it before, I’ve forgotten. {age/memory. you know} Anyway, Happy Birthday, Bob!!

      Yeah, I understand about the puppers wanting treats regardless of the time of year. I have the same problem at my house. 🙂

    • You buy candy just in case, huh? LOL Ookay. Whatever you say.
      Btw, Sounds like a good enough reason to me to have chocolate in the house. After all, it IS one of the major food groups – expecially for a writer. 😉

  3. For some reason, I got in the spirit this year. Dragged out the decorations a whole week early, bought a new one, and even bought goodies to package up and hand out with the candy. Little whistles, kazoos and eyeballs that have bubbles in them.
    I’m even wearing my witchy-poo shirt. And the trick or treaters are the cutest ever this year. One was about 18 inches tall and looked like a cow. So adorable!

    • That sounds like fun, Susan. I have a Halloween village I always took to the office for display. Usually, I was the only one on the floor to have any spirit, especially after they stopped letting us dress up. But I find it’s just too much trouble here at the house to drag the stuff out. We don’t have trick-or-treaters here so I’m turning into an old fuddy-dud. 😦 Glad you had fun, though.

  4. Usually, I’m at the hospital for Halloween and I always dress up. This year, I was off so I got ready. But my house is too off the beaten track and my road is a little spooky at night, so no one came. Darn! Now I have to eat all those KitKats myself!

    • You had to eat ALL the KitKats by yourself? Well, ain’t that just a darn shame? {snort} You shoulda yelled at me and I would have come over to help you out. After all, what are friends for? 🙂

Leave a Reply

