Jetlagged

I’m sitting here rubbing my eyes and trying to decide if my double vision is a problem or not. I’m tired. Really, REALLY tired. Like a baby who gets his days and nights mixed up tired. We traveled to the US from Dubai for Thanksgiving and we just got back a couple of days ago.

very tired woman travelerI’m not sure how long it takes for the average person’s Circadian rhythm to get back on track, but for me, it’s longer than a week, shorter than two weeks.

The part of the US where my kids live is a ten hour time difference from Dubai.  It’s morning here in the middle of their night and vice versa.  When you add that time change to a really long travel day (~18 hrs of flight time), you’ve got the makings for a short tempered, punch drunk writer.

I generally give myself a pass the first day or two back.  I unpack, do laundry and veg.  Mostly because that’s all I’m good for, for a couple of days.  Today, my only goal is to get my Christmas decorations up.  It’s about all I can do… because my eyes won’t focus.

I don’t care much for the feeling of being jetlagged.

One of the things I do like about traveling is all the interesting people I meet.  On the flight from Houston to Qatar, I sat next to a very nice Indian lady who quizzed me about my writing.  She has a friend in the business.  She lectured me quite forcefully about self publishing and getting my work out as an e-book.  She even quoted prices to me.  I find it fascinating that of the 300+ seats on that plane (and it was packed full!) I ended up next to someone who knew a little something about publishing.

Do you think this is God’s way of telling me to get my latest novel out there?  Or is that just the exhaustion talking?

–Sandee Wagner

11 thoughts on “Jetlagged

  1. Sandee–
    Do you need a bigger sign? 🙂
    I understand the jetlag effect.
    Another wonderful thing about your travels is that you share the experiences. Thanks for that.

    • Meg,

      You’ve been doing a lot of flying around for your scuba diving missions… my pet theory is that you are an undercover operative and spend your time in Tiki Bars making foreign contacts…. spw

    • Em,

      I was TOTALLY jet lagged. Have I mentioned that all the flights leave Dubai at o’dark thirty? We got up at midnight to make a 0200 flight. I call that reason to be jet lagged on this side of the jump. spw

  2. Ugh, I totally understand. Bangalore is an 11 and 1/2 hour difference. When I first got here, it was awful for me. I was fresh off a full-time job, and giddy with the idea that I got to play housewife. Unfortunately, that allowed me to take mid-day naps, which was the worst thing I could do to beat the jet lag. I spent a full week sitting on our patio in the middle of the night trying to force myself to sleep. My plan when we head back for Christmas? Do NOT take naps!

    • Lorenda!! I totally agree. If you fall into the ‘napping trap’ then you don’t get adjusted at all. I had two weeks of waking up at 0400 feeling like it was midday. I had to force myself to stay in bed and still in the midafternoon, I’d get the nods. The good news is that it didn’t take as long to get back into Dubai time! Good luck on your Christmas trip!! spw

  3. Pingback: Dealing with Jetlag - Geek Ergo Sum

Leave a Reply

