Party Time!

I’m usually the next-to-the-last person to get ready for Christmas. This year is no exception. Here it is, December 10th and I haven’t finished decorating my house, or finished buying gifts. And I don’t have a list to give Santa.

I’m okay with all that though, because right now it’s 5 a.m. on the 2nd Saturday of the last month of the year, and that means Christmas party at RWI!!!

It’s my favorite meeting of the year. We get together at noon, potluck it for lunch, play Dirty Santa with ornaments and have an open asked-and-answered session where we can ask the published authors in our group ANYTHING WE WANT. And, big surprise, they answer!

I have to tell you, it’s quite a treat having honest women in your group who’ll tell you whatever you want to know about getting published. I’ve been with this group since the beginning, so I’m  going to share a few of the insights I’ve garnered over the years.

  • How did you get published?

Most authors have heard this question where ever they go. I had a man come up to me at a signing and ask it once. “I have an idea or a book . . .  How did you get published?” Nearly every author I’ve ever met got published the same way. They wrote. And wrote. And wrote some more.

And most of them read, too. 🙂

  • What magic program do you use to write your books?

Most of the writers I know uses Word. Or WordPerfect. Not Magic Words. (I’ve never heard JK Rowling answer that, so there might be a magic program I don’t know about. 🙂 ) There are probably other programs out there. I’d love to have someone share them with us in the comments.

  • Do you have to be a member of Romance Writers of America to sell a romance?

No. (But it helps.)

  • Do you have to be a member of Romance Writers of America to join Romance Writer Ink?

Yes.

  • I’m so busy, I just don’t have time to write. How do you find time?

You don’t find time, you have to take it!

Wrestle it to the ground. Get your arms around it, sit on it, hang on to it like Polly Pureheart on a runaway horse.

Some of us are desperate enough to get out of bed a few hours before the rest of the house. Others stay up later. A few lucky ones are able to close the door to their office and simply go to work. But even for them, it’s not always easy. There are so many things to draw us away, such as trips, illnesses and family, not to mention LIFE!

But the women I know who really succeed at writing have the three D’s. Discipline, decisiveness and determination. Don’t get me wrong. I’m still trying to acquire those qualities, but I know women who have them, and they amaze me.

  • How much money do you make?

That’s a hard question. The answer depends on so many things– who you sell your book to, whether or not you have an agent, how big the book is, etc.

If you were a member of RWI and came to our party today, you could ask a specific author how much she makes. She could answer you or give you numbers that pertain to what your situation would be if you were to sell to their publisher. But there’s one answer you’ll probably hear from every one of our authors if they’re honest–

“Not enough.”

🙂

Oops. Time to go make my Cashew Caramel Corn for the party! Want some?

6 thoughts on “Party Time!

  1. Hi Susan, I was up at an early hour today, too. At least for me. 6:30. But like you, I’m getting ready for our fabulous RWI party. Am I ready for Christmas? No. Do I have my gifts bought? Well, I have the one I need for today, and that’s pretty good for me. My oldest daughter brought me by a fresh door wreath, so I guess I can say that I’ve (She’s) decorated (for me). I’ve had cards printed showing darling Grands. Are they addressed? Of course not. But I’m a writer, and I have been writing every day. So Yea for me!
    Hugs to all,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

