CHANGES

Two of our long-term RWI members are leaving us.  The adult part of me understands, but the sister part of me is whining.  Change comes to all things…life, careers, groups. Actually, without change, there is no growth.  Even if that change is the loss of good friends.

I’ve actually only seen Meg Reid five or six times in all the years I’ve known her.  She’s a funny, warm person and I could listen to her laugh forever.  I love her writing, her willingness to try new things, and her strong support of her fellow authors.  I don’t know all the paths she will travel from now on, but I’m glad she and I can still communicate through email.  And if she doesn’t keep me apprised of future publications, she’ll be cheating me big time!  Love ya, Meg!

Sandee Wagner, what am I going to do without your solid good sense?  Where the rest of us might dither around the changes in technology or the market, you hold firm to your path.  If you don’t know how to do something, you learn it.  And in your generosity, you share it with the rest of us.  I love your wry view of the world and your constant astonishment of human foibles.  I will miss those wonderful quips of yours.  When, and not if, you publish, you’d better let us know.  If I can’t hear you, the next best thing will be reading your voice.  See you on your blog!

As for the rest of the RWI sisters, you’d better not be planning to leave us!  I’ve had all the changes I can handle for right now.

4 thoughts on “CHANGES

  1. Thanks, Jackie, for the kind words. You impressed me greatly the first time I saw you commanding the podium at NORA. I love that I can call you friend.
    Leaving RWI is like taking the water wings off and swimming solo.

  2. I’m going to miss Meg and Sandee. I’ve had the chance to get to know Meg mostly through email and her posts. But I love her humor and spunk. Her how to write a Kiss Ass Heroine seminar was entertaining. Especially when she made us get up and belly dance! Sandee and I have crtiqued together. I was so proud of her when she finished Second in this years WTMB contest.

  3. I miss Meg. Now she’ll be moving on to new styles of swimming without her waterwings. Her kick ass seminar and the belly dancing were incredible. Mostly, she helped with my new computer and taught me so much in 5 or 10 minutes with her clear explanations and laid back style. I will follow your activities with interest.

    Sandee, You have always been so kind. I love your Hawaiian quilts. Keep us posted on your adventures.

Leave a Reply

