Swan Song

I’ve had a good run with RWI and the Writing Sluts but it’s time to say goodbye.  I moved to Tulsa in 2000 and it took me a few years to find RWI but once I did, I hit the ground running. I attended meetings, conferences and volunteered as newsletter editor. I category chaired for contests and even ran for office. As a member, I remained active and engaged.

But when we moved overseas, it took me so far away, it was hard.  I can’t attend the monthly meetings and see the programs.  I missed the retreat and the holiday party.  It’s still a requirement to volunteer, and I’m lucky that I was able to work on the contest committee from clear across the globe.  The reality is that I won’t be coming back to Tulsa.  We sold our house and my husband advanced to the point where there’s not a place for him in the OK plants.  His next post will probably be at headquarters in Houston.  So, with a heavy heart, I am not renewing my membership to this fine RWA Chapter.

I want all the Sluts to know that because I’m not rejoining, it doesn’t mean I want to lose track with my friends.  I’m keeping all of you.

But technically, you have to be a member of RWI to be a contributing writer on the Writing Sluts blog, so you won’t see my scintillating posts for much longer.  Soon, they’ll realize it and kick me off.  But until then, I’ll keep posting weekly and giving you my thoughts on things.  If you’re an Inker and you want a spot in the lineup, Thursdays are available.

–Sandee Wagner

13 thoughts on “Swan Song

  1. Sandee, Your absence has been felt once you moved overseas. Your blog has always offered insights and some peaks at your adventures in the Arab Spring from a unique perspective. If not a book, at the very least you have experienced the makings of a nice article from your front row seat.
    Your second place in “Where the Magic Begins” this year says you are well on your way to publishing your book.
    I will always appreciate your tech. knowledge and spectacular Hawaiian quilts. Come home safe, wherever the city you reside. In our hearts, you are one of us. May God bless you, keep you safe, and guide you. jean.

  2. Oh, Sandee. I fully understand about you moving on to other things, especially from the other side of the world. But I sure will miss you being a part of the RWI family!! 😦 You’ve contributed so much to our chapter over the years, even while living in other parts of the country and world. Of course, this isn’t the end of our friendship. (You can’t get rid of us that easily. 😉 ) I wish you ALL the best and look forward to seeing you published one day soon.
    Semper Fi

  3. Sandee,
    I wonder if you know just how much you’ll be missed. You’ve been a great member and wonderful friend. I hate it that you’ve moved on.
    Your shrinking violet personality made it hard to get to know you (not!) and we always had to guess what you thought about any subject (Ha!) but once we got past that shyness, you were a great friend.
    Take care.
    We miss you already.
    Love you~

    • When people talk about me, and so few do… they often refer to me as ‘retiring’ and a wallflower… HA!! I will truly miss you Susan. But when I put my Christmas ornament on the tree, I will always remember that you stitched it for me!! spw

  4. Oh, Sandee. I fully understand about you moving on to other things, especially from the other side of the world. But I sure will miss you being a part of the RWI family!! 😦 You’ve contributed so much to our chapter over the years, even while living in other parts of the country and world. Of course, this isn’t the end of our friendship. (You can’t get rid of us that easily. 😉 ) I wish you ALL the best and look forward to seeing you published one day soon.
    Semper Fi

    • Thanks Linda!! You know you can count on me to judge the unpubbed contest each year, so keep me on your judges’ list.

      I cherish all the time we’ve spent together and all the fellowship that another Marine wife brings to any conversation. Take care and keep in touch!! spw

  5. I hate the thought I might never get to see you again, but I’m going to stay in touch whether you want me to or not. Consider that you’ve officially picked up a cyber stalker! I won’t wish you a great future because I know you will. Kiss Bert for me and stay in touch!

  6. Oh Sandee,

    I don’t think I can add anything to the comments that have been made. I will miss you so much. You’re a great friend, a terrific crit partner, and a talented writer. Say “hi” to Bert.

    All my best to you.

Leave a Reply

