Is There a Writer I Can Talk With, II

I love being part of the writing community. Well, the romance writing community, anyway. 🙂 (I’m not sure if all writers are as sharing as romance writers.)

In her blog on Wednesday, Jackie Kramer mentioned that a writer needs another writer to commiserate and/or celebrate with. And she’s right. Only somebody who’s been through the fire knows how hot it really is.

But I’ve learned over the years that I need to talk to another writer for more reasons.

  • Only another writer can teach you how to write for publication.

English teachers know grammar and punctuation, etc., but an author will tell you that each house has its own style. (Serial commas, one or two spaces after a period, and that kind of thing.) No matter how educated you are, you aren’t going to teach a publisher how to publish.

  • Writers know EVERYTHING.

They really do. Some of them are very humble about their knowledge, and they make it easy to learn from them.

*Thanks, Marilyn, for all the things you’ve taught us (me especially) over the years!!! We appreciate you!*

  • Writers really do know EVERYTHING.

Sounds as if I’m repeating myself, but on a little different note, if you need to know something, there’s a writer out there somewhere who knows it. Or she knows somebody who knows it. Or she can help you research it.

Several years ago, a friend of mine wrote something that referred to glaciers during the ice age having been in the area which is now Oklahoma. I offered to check with my Dad (a geologist) about it.

I didn’t have to, though. Both my husband and my son knew for a fact glaciers had never graced Oklahoma. (Okay, I don’t know a lot, but I know people . . . )

Just yesterday, writer friend Jackie Kramer, who’s also a nurse, answered my call. My great niece is in the hospital, where she works, with RSV. She calmed my fears and educated me on the sticky virus.

  • Writers cheer you up if you get down.

I promise you, if you do something silly or just plain stupid, there’s another writer out there whose done it, too. And someone has done it bigger. And they survived to tell the tale. (And they’ll probably share it with you.)

  • Writers understand.

We look for insight–the underlying reasons behind other people’s actions and emotions. We have to be able to make sense of the people in our lives. It’s what we do.

Because we just might want to write about it some day. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Is There a Writer I Can Talk With, II

  1. And we’re just plain interesting on top of all that. And funny. And we make people feel as if they fit in with us. I’ve had wonderful family and friends over the years, but meeting my first bunch of writers, I felt as if I had found HOME.

    I’ve had tons of fun passing along what I’ve learned over the years. Thanks to you and everyone else in RWI for asking/listening. 🙂

    Hope your great-niece is doing better. Poor baby.

    • For sure, M!
      Your knowledge is amazing. And you’re welcome.
      GN is a little worse today, but Jackie says that’s to be expected because things are breaking up.
      I’ll be glad when it’s over!

  2. GREAT post, Susan! You’re right, writers totally get other writers. I think that’s one of the reason’s RWI is more like a sisterhood (family), than just a bunch of women who get together once a month.

    Thanks for laying this out so succinctly.

  3. Sorry to be so late chimming in. Thanks for the reminder of how great our sister writers are. Hope all is well with your family.

Leave a Reply

