Inspiration and Challenges

Characters in any good romance novel have to face challenges, obstacles, and conflict. Without those things, our stories would be bland to the point of blah.

Sunday night, Hallmark Hall of Fame presented a movie titled “A Smile As Big As The Moon.” I have to admit, I didn’t see much of it, just the beginning and the last 30 minutes. (Sure wish I’d seen the entire movie!) What I gathered was a class of Special Needs students, who didn’t get along by any stretch of the imagination, was accepted into NASA’s Space Camp.

During the course of the following months, these kids studied and prepared for camp. They were the first such class allowed to attend the camp. To everyone’s surprise, I think even their coach’s, they pulled together and became a team. From their mist one young man learned to be a leader. He grew beyond everyone’s expectations…or dreams. In the end, he demonstrated extraordinary growth. He overcame his own private obstacles, and, from my perspective, became a man.

That’s what I want the hero and heroine in my stories to do, face their challenges and overcome them for a Happily Ever After. If we, the writer, don’t throw everything but the kitchen sink at them (and sometimes even that), and test them to their limits, how will the reader know how heroic they are?

It would’ve been great to have written “A Smile As Big As The Moon,” to create those characters and see the interaction between them change and grow. Only this movie is based on real life…real people. Which is what makes it all the better.

I applaud those young people and their coach for stepping outside their comfort zones (waaayyyy out!), facing those challenges and overcoming them. You are truly an inspiration. Thank you!

Linda Trout

10 thoughts on “Inspiration and Challenges

  1. It was a good movie, Linda (even though I don’t like space/astronauts/NASA types of things). It’ll be rerun on the Hallmark Channel starting next week, I think, so if you get a chance, watch it.

    A reviewer once said that I liked to make my characters suffer. Heck, yeah. That’s how we know they DESERVE their happily-ever-after!

  2. I think when we read we take the journey with the character. We live through their traumas vicariously and in the end when they overcome all the obstacles, we feel that whatever challenges we face, we too can overcome. Heroic characters can inspire us to face our own trials with hope.

  3. I think that’s why I never cared much for Scarlett in GWTW. Despite how she overcame everything thrown at her, she essentially was the same at the end of the movie as she was in the beginning. She was still a spoiled brat.

    • As much as I love you, Jackie, I can’t agree. Scarlett wasn’t the same spoiled brat she’d been in the beginning.
      She wasn’t the SAME spoiled brat. She decided she would get Rhett back, and planned to in the same way she saved Melanie at Beau’s birth, her dad and sisters during/after the war, and her husband’s business.
      Irish Stubborn determination would find a way! (Tomorrow is another day is much more poetic.)
      But that’s just me. 🙂

      • Well, two very opposite point of views, with both being valid. That’s the nice thing about us humans, we can disagree and still get along.

        Thanks for your input, ladies!

    • Thank you, Jackie. I try to write my posts on Sunday, otherwise they’re always late. Guess Sunday’s give me inspiration one way or the other. 😉

Leave a Reply

