My Response to “The Call”

What do you do after you get “The Call” for your very first book? Or, as is more and more the case, after you get that email? Jump up and down, scream for joy, hyperventilate, drink bubbly, eat chocolate, dance on the ceiling, or celebrate with your significant other? None or all of the above?

I was a little different. I just sat there, going, “Oh. Okay.” I then very calmly got up and told my hubby. He gave me a thumbs up, then went back to his book. Strange, huh? It did hit me a few days later, though, so you don’t have to worry that I’m totally warped. Hehe

This has been a fascinating process. I thought my story was pretty darned good when I’d submitted it for consideration. However, I had a rude awakening when I received that first round of edits. Can you say double Ugh?  🙂  Man, did my editor find a lot of things! Most were small, but a few were some major issues that needed to be addressed. Hmm. Why hadn’t I seen them before? Too close to the story, I suppose.

Luckily, I did a good enough job with the edits that a 2nd round wasn’t needed. (Whew!) Next I got the Galleys. This was my last shot at fixing ANYTHING I didn’t like. I went through my baby with a fine-toothed comb. Multiple times! It was amazing the things I found when I saw my story in actual book format. Again, I had it all marked up. Adding, deleting, rearranging.

NOW I felt good about my story!

As all published authors know, the name of the game is hurry up and wait. I’m in the waiting mode. Waiting to find out if the copy editor found anything major; waiting to find out when my story will hit the production line-up and receive a publication date.

For those that know me, you know I’m not a patient person. But what to do in the meantime? Oh, I know. How about another story? 😉

