A LEAP OF FAITH

As humans, we make lots of “leaps of faith”.  When you’re an infant, you take a leap of faith when you take that first step without holding on to anything. Again, you take a leap of faith when you leave your parent’s home to get your own apartment, go to college or the military, or get married. And one of the scariest leaps of faith is when you decide to become a parent, responsible for another human being. After all, you’re the one who raises a Mother Theresa or Jeffery Dahmer.

Last weekend, I decided to make my next leap of faith. When I sold my first book, I had friends who thought I had it made.  I could quit my job and write full-time. Thankfully, my sense of security didn’t let me do that or I would have to file for bankruptcy a long time ago. Even last year, when I decided to semi-retire from my nursing job, I didn’t have the nerve to just leave nursing.

Friends and loved ones, I’m proud to announce that I will be retiring FULL TIME from nursing on (or around depending on the unit’s schedule) September 1st! Scared? You bet. Those of you who depend on your writing for the only money coming in have my most sincere respect. How do you do it? I know, if it wasn’t for my Social Security and Medicare, I would NEVER have made this decision.

But I kept thinking…do I believe in myself? Do I believe in my writing? If not, it was time to take a leap of faith. I’m pretty sure with the economy the way it is, my SS isn’t going to be enough to live on, so what better prod than that to keep me writing? That and the fear I’ll have to move into the St. John’s Shelter for the Homeless.

I’m also excited about the leap. Writing when and as long as I want without having to worry about stopping in time to go to work. Knowing when a bad snow storm is coming through I don’t have to leave the house if I don’t want to. Eating Ramen noodles when… No! I’m not going to think negatively.

It will be my finest leap of faith!

5 thoughts on “A LEAP OF FAITH

  1. Wow, Jackie! Way to go. I’m thrilled that you’ll be retiring so you can write enough to FINISH THAT BOOK! I can’t wait to see it all in one piece.
    You’re good, Jackie. No matter what you’re doing, you’re the best.

  2. I’m so happy for you, Jackie!! I know once you can devote more time to your writing, you’ll be cranking out those stories right and left…beginning with Tears of the Sun. As Marilyn and Susan said, we want to see the end of that book. AND to see it published! It is SOOO good!!

Leave a Reply

