Give Me the Fantasy!

They say 50 is the new 30.  Really?  Then tell that to my body!  At 30, I didn’t have to wear a pair of “cheaters” to read the warnings on a medicine bottle or the menu at my favorite Mexican restaurant.  This morning as I was putting on my make-up, it really ticked me off that I had to put on my glasses so I could read the labels.  I couldn’t tell which eye shadow was Peach Puff or Vanilla Sugar.  And if that wasn’t insult enough, I had to use the flip side of my mirror, the side that magnifies, to even apply my eye shadow.

When I was 30, I played soccer five days a week. After a tough game, I still had plenty of energy to go to dinner, and then do a little mattress dancing.  Now after just doing a little yard work, the only thing I do on a mattress is snore!  My knees have so much gravel in them my doctor calls me Mrs. Flintstone.  I had a complete physical the other day. On the plus side, my cholesterol, blood sugar, and blood pressure were perfect.  On the downside, he says I need to lose more weight.  “More weight?” I asked.  “But I’ve already lost 50 pounds. I’m still working on lose more.  I walk two hours/day, stay below 1200 calories a day, but the weight just comes off so slow,” I whined.

And you know what he said?

“Getting old will do that. Once you hit menopause, you just don’t lose it as fast.”

Gee thanks, Doc.

There are some benefits to being over 50.  I’ve been around the block a few times since I turned 30. So now, I’m a fountain of wisdom.  Seriously, just ask me anything and I’ll have an opinion about it. I figure at 50+, I’ve earned the right to speak my mind.

Recently I read some comments written by a couple of other romance writers lamenting the fact that so few publishers print romances where the heronine is a size 18 or over 40. Those writers are looking for some “realism” in their romance. And that’s fine. Each to their own, as they say. But realism is not me, at least not in my romance reading. I want the fantasy. I want to live vicariously through characters that don’t have grandma arms or crow’s feet.

8 thoughts on “Give Me the Fantasy!

  1. My husband and I had this “old” conversation last night. I say it’s all in your head. He says, Not if you’ve been hard on your body.
    For me, a young person is one who gets up and sees the world with new eyes each morning. She is eager to learn as well as try something new. She wants to see new places, meet new people and has a great time doing it.
    I’ve known very old twenty-year-olds AND I work for a guy who’s a young, young eighty-something.
    I don’t really care about a character’s number. It’s her outlook that makes the difference to me.
    BTW: Great post! 🙂

  2. Wait until you hit 60. If 50 is the new 30, I swear that 65 is the new 99!
    Suse–I’m with your husband! At least, I’m hoping it I’m not nursing any more, my body will show me mercy.

  3. I don’t really care about characters’ ages, weights, sizes, etc. I just want women I can like, men I can dream over, and stories that keep me entertained.

    Though I do hate the perfect heroes/heroines. I want some flaws. Perfection just isn’t entertaining to me!

    • I agree that perfection isn’t entertaining and I do like flawed characters. But if I want realism in my romance, I can look in the mirror. LOL!

      I guess what I was trying to say is that I want to be swept away, get totally engrossed in a story and the characters. I read a romance novel a few years ago where the heronine was 40 something, divorced and constantly worried about her sagging boobs and droopy rear-end. It was supposed to be funny in a chick lit kind of way, but just wasn’t all that entertaining to me.

      But each to their own and that’s perfectly okay.

Leave a Reply

