Oh, Happy Day!

This is St. Patrick’s Day, and as they say, “Everyone’s Irish on St. Patrick’s Day.” Are you wearing green? (I won’t pinch you if you don’t pinch me.)

As a romance writer, I should be wearing a t-shirt that says–

but I’m not. Instead, I’m wearing my jammies. (A perk of being a writer: You don’t have to get dressed to go to work.)

Do you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day? I wish I’d planned to celebrate it this year, but one son is in Big D, watching his wife and THE TALK OF TULSA compete against other choruses. (Good luck, guys!)

And another one is getting ready for a wedding, with the third brother helping that one out.

Something writers do that you don’t usually see in their books is get to know their characters’ histories. Some go way back, some not so far. But in doing that, I’ve become more curious about my own.

I learned I really do have an Irish connection, besides being married to an Irishman. My great-grandmother’s maiden name was McCrackin. Before you tell me that’s a Scottish name, not Irish, let me finish.

Sometime my predecessors scooted over from Scotland to Ireland, and lived there for a few generations before migrating to the Land of Opportunity. So does that make me Scottish? Does it make me Irish? Nope.

IT MAKES ME AN AMERICAN! (And proud of it!)

I also have German, Black Dutch and (I was told recently) French in my makeup. I could be the melting pot of the world. 🙂

So lets all celebrate the Irish in us with a big glass of green apple juice.

Just don’t show me your green teeth when you’re through.

8 thoughts on “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. How is it I dislike St.Patrick’s Day so much when so many of my friends (to say nothing of my family on both sides) are Irish?

    Oh, well, fun to all you Irish folks and happy birthday to my #2 sister!

    • What’s not to like, M? It’s too cool for school. 🙂
      It’s your sister’s birthday, too? I have a cousin, a niece, and a great niece born today. That makes it even cooler!
      Too bad I couldn’t ad Irish jig music to this post. 😉

  2. Loved your post! I had a wonderful St. Patty’s day, even put on a green(ish) shirt. Stayed home and played with my furry, 4-footed grandchild while her family is in California. She is a purrfect writer’s pet…loves lying on my lap and shows her approval by purring.

    • Thanks, Jackie! I’m glad someone wore green on the P Day. I didn’t! I did have a green stripe on the toe of my sock, but that’s it. 🙂
      Enjoy your furry grandchild!

  3. Cute post, Susan. I probably have some Irish blood in me somewhere. Heck, I’ve got a bit of everything else. {snort} And yes, I did wear green, although it was forest green as opposed to a bright green. At least I didn’t get pinched. 😉

    • Thank you, Linda. I didn’t wear green. I turned green after I worked really hard in the yard for a while. Pooped my poor body out!
      Glad you had a good one!

Leave a Reply

