SECOND SPRING IS HERE!

For the rest of you, spring may have come weeks ago, for the pediatrics world, it just came this week. Usually, winter in kiddieland lasts from November to March, with the worst days in January and February.  By that, I mean that as soon as a bed is empty, another patient is put in it. And every night, children are held in the day urgent care and pediatric emergency room. If there is room, they’re even held in the pediatric intensive care unit as peds status patients until there’s room for them on a peds floor.

This year, because of the mild winter, the season lasted the past six weeks. Despite the short time period, it was same old-same old and, after 30 years, you’d think I’d be used to it. (Which, by the way, is why I missed blogging last week.  Sorry!)  But since I’m now on countdown (164 days and counting) for retirement, even this short winter season seemed worse than the winter of 2001. That year, in one eight hour period, we discharged 35 patients and admitted 35 patients!

Of course, this year I’m 10 years older and meaner, so that may have a lot to do with how hard the job seemed to be this year.  Or maybe it’s because I’m so anxious now to enter the next portion of my life. But like all years, pediatric spring seems to have arrived. Woo Hoo! I survived another winter. And with luck, it’ll be smooth sailing to the sunset of my first career and the dawning of my new career. Did I mention on 164 days and counting?

10 thoughts on “SECOND SPRING IS HERE!

  1. Even though it was rough, I’m glad your ‘winter’ was shorter than normal. Now you can get back to working on that second career of yours. 🙂

    • You’ll be glad to move to the next phase, but the patients’ parents will miss you a ton. My niece and her family appreciated all you nurses so much this winter. You’re a truly gifted nurse.
      But you’re a truly gifted writer, too.
      And I think it’s time!

    • Not as glad as I, Linda. Witch that I am, thinking of next winter when I won’t have drive the bad roads or move into the hospital makes me giggle like a kid.

  2. Jackie,

    I know the kiddos are going to miss you, but the writing world is looking forward to all the new works you’re going to give us. You’ve enriched the world as a nurse, now you’ll do again with your writing.

    • I’ll miss the kids also, Lynn. Probably why I’m thinking of getting a dog. But one that will find something good to do while Mommy is writing!

  3. I’m with the rest: I can’t wait until you’re writing full time and giving us greedy folks more more more to read.

Leave a Reply

