Perspective

There are a number of ways you can interpret the title of this blog. Perspectives could be referring to the characters POV or how they look at things within the story. But not in this case. I’m talking about how we manage, or look at, our individual writing techniques.

Up until recently, I judged how much writing I’d done each day by my word count. As a retired accountant, I’m pretty much fanatical about numbers. (Not math, mind you. Just numbers. 😉 ) I have a handy-dandy spreadsheet so all I have to do is plug in the total page and word count, and it calculates the net number of words I wrote that day. I know I’m not the only one to do this. Am I right?

However, since I’ve gone through the editing process (albeit only once), I now look at my manuscript a bit differently. Now I look at the scene as a whole. Is it working? Does it flow well? Is it moving the story along? Unfortunately, I don’t think it is with my current WIP. But I digress. Yes, now I look at the entire scene and I’m no longer number crunching. Which is both good and bad.

It’s good in that I’m looking at the overall picture. It’s bad in that you have to have the word count up there in order to sell the story. If you don’t have the required number of words for your target publisher, or if you have too many words, you’ll have to go back and adjust accordingly. I found on Grave Secrets, the number of words I cut (bad/poor writing) were offset my new (and better) words. i.e. I clarified scenes. Which is probably what led me to my current style. Of course, I’m in a revising state. If I were writing the first draft, I’d be back to crunching those numbers.

Hmm. I guess once a bean counter, always a bean counter. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Perspective

    • Oh, thank you, Jackie. You’re so sweet. I have to say, if I had to choose between the two (bean counter vs writer), the writer would win, hands down. But a part of me still enjoys getting the number of beans just right. 🙂

  1. I’m so thrilled for you, Linda. Selling your book is a great milestone. Now count those words and get another one ready to go.
    And kick my hiney x number of times while you’re at it. Oh, wait. I forgot you don’t do math. LOL.

    • Susan,
      Years ago when I ran into a former classmate from high school and told her I was an accountant, she proclaimed, “But you were terrible at math!” LOL She’s right. But I can sure run that adding machine and excel spreadsheet.

      And I’m working on getting those revisions done so I can begin the next story…and go back to counting the words. hehe

  2. Just a word of warning…shut down that internal editor when you’re done revising. That b***h will slow down your writing the next book! I know; she’s still living with me no matter how many times I kick her out!

    • Jackie,
      When I get done with these revisions, I’ll have to kick the internal editor to the curb. I know it won’t be easy, though. Once that little bugger gets a hold of you, it won’t let go (as you well know).

      Now, hurry up and finish ‘Tears’. I want to read the rest of it!! ♥

Leave a Reply

