Bang, bang!!

Here’s that infernal blank page. And I’m late writing and posting my blog. Again. You see, my problem is I’ve been so caught up in the revisions on my current WIP, and reading a really good suspense, that I have a hard time getting anything else done. Including writing my blog. Sorry.

I write suspense. Y’all know that. But while reading this latest black ops book, I got to thinking about how the authors come up with the great storylines. You know, the ones that keep you turning the pages in spite of the fact you need some sleep, or (worse) work on your own story, because you’re so enthralled.

I wonder how they come up with the action…the danger they put their hero and heroine through. And how do they learn about the weapons? How to strap them onto the body, etc.? I guess you could say I’m jealous. I LOVE these types of stories, but I don’t seem to be able to write them. {{Grrr.}} I can come up with suspense. But it’s light compared to these.

Maybe one of these days, if I work hard enough, if I study the different authors enough, I can come close to what they’ve already achieved.  In the meantime, I’ll keep plugging away at my own stories. There’s danger. But it doesn’t fill every page. My tendency is to focus more on the romance than the intrigue. Which is okay. Really, it is. There’s definitely a market for that, too. (Yah!)

But I sure like to read the bang, bang, shoot ‘em ups. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Bang, bang!!

  1. Now me, I like serial killers. I like that ticking clock where you have to put together a profile, often with motives that may not be logical, and stop the killer before that next victim. Or maybe I just want to date serial killers. Hmmm, what does that say about me?

    • LOL Jackie! Who but a writer would say they like serial killers? Dating one? Um, I’m not sure what that says about you. Maybe you just want to find out what makes them tick so you can write about one. At least i HOPE that’s all it would be. 🙂

  2. Right now I’m reading a novel that you both might like called, “The Gods of Gotham.” Story is woven into the start of the 1st NYC police force, called the Copper Stars. Also has an enticing love story and I could hardly put it down to check my email.

    • Oh, sounds like a fantastic read, Jackie. I’ll have to get a copy. I LOVE stories I can’t put down. But then, who doesn’t? 😉

  3. I love psychic suspenses. Kay Hooper writes about a section of the FBI who are all psychic. I love the way they have to figure out what their visions mean or the ghosts are trying to tell them, then they have to find the serial killers (it’s always a serial killer) before they can kill again.
    Love it! Love it! Love it!

  4. As far as the weapon stuff: 1) they have personal experience to draw on; 2) their spouse/friends have personal experience; 3) they take a workshop at national on the use of weapons/fighting; 4) they make it up and are on occasion totally wrong.

    I don’t like serial killers. Don’t like heavy-duty suspenses, either. Light suspenses are my cup of tea in that stuff. Maybe it’s just because I’ve written so many of them that they wore me out.

Leave a Reply

